Northampton & District CA (TT Series 6 of 7)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 10-Jul-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: N1/10
  • Closing Date: 29-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fox and Clarke charge to victories in Northampton & District CA 10

  • Published: 11 Jul 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
George Fox

George Fox (George Fox Cycling Solutions) clinched victory by over a minute after setting an impressive time to win the Northampton & District CA 10, while Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC) won the women’s event.

Fox, aged 27, stormed around the N1/10, which is not known for its fast times, stopping the clock in an impressive 19 minutes and 39 seconds.

The N1/10 starts near Sawtry before following the B1043, which runs adjacent to the A1, north towards Peterborough before turning at Norman Cross and making the return journey.

With up and down terrain and three roundabouts on each leg in addition to the turn the course is not targeted for personal best times.

After winning the Northampton & District CA 20.8 last month Fox showed his speed over the shorter distance taking advantage of the good condition to smash the 20-minute barrier.

Veteran Paul Pardoe (Peterborough CC) won the ECCA 10 last month in 18-33 but went much slower on the tougher course and had to settle for second on this occasion over a minute back in 20-56.

Jack Patmore (George Fox Cycling Solutions) finished third in both the Northampton & District CA organised 20.8 and 15-mile events.

Lindsay Clarke

Patmore led a tough battle for third with his 21-17 just a single second quicker than Sam McDonald (St Neots CC) and Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) who shared fourth in 21-18.

Veteran rider Clarke started last woman and was pushed all the way for victory.

Clarke won the Northampton & District CA 20.8 on her last outing and was once again victorious with her time of 25-01 five seconds quicker than her nearest rival.

Hayley Moore (Ilkeston Cycle Club) finished second in the Team 10 last time out and had to settle for the runners-up spot again this time out clocking 25-06.

Meanwhile, Tonya Smith (Fenland Clarion CC ) completed the podium positions taking third in 25-23.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 George Fox (George Fox Cycling Solutions) 19.39
2 Paul Pardoe (Peterborough CC) 20.56
3 Jack Patmore (George Fox Cycling Solutions) 21.17
=4 Sam McDonald (St Neots CC) 21.18
=4 Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) 21.18
6 Paul Lunn (Fenland Clarion CC) 21.24
7 Jamie Murray (Peterborough CC) 21.36
8 Malcolm Smith (Peterborough CC) 21.42
9 Matthew Stonley (Mapperley CC) 21.57
10 Phil Melling (George Fox Cycling Solutions) 22.12

1 Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC) 25.01
2 Hayley Moore (Ilkeston Cycle Club) 25.06
3 Tonya Smith (Fenland Clarion CC ) 25.23