Manchester& District TTA (Bioracer Kudos series event 1)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Oct-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: J4/20
  • Closing Date: 28-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Watson and Loftus go fastest in Manchester & District TTA 10

  • Published: 10 Oct 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Sam Watson

Sam Watson (Team Inspired) set a new course record on his way to snatching victory by two seconds in the Manchester & District TTA 10, while Amy Loftus (East Bradford CC) was the quickest female.

Watson, aged 20, clocked a winning time of 19 minutes and 54 seconds – beating Oliver Rees (Holmfirth CC) by just two seconds with both riders breaking the previous course record.

Watson, from Cheadle in Cheshire, is part of the Great Britain development programme finishing 13th in the under-23 road racing World Championships earlier this month and showed his form on local roads.

The J4/20 saw riders start on Moss Lane, near Byley, before heading out to turn onto the A50 at Cranage and head north.

Once competitors reached Toft they headed back south on the B5081 back through Lower Peover to the finish.

Watson was an early starter in the field despite also winning the VTTA (North Lancs & Lakes) 25 much earlier in the season and a stellar road racing campaign.

Gail Lowe

However, he was pushed all the way for victory by under-23 rider Rees who was second starter and thought that breaking the previous course record mark would be enough for victory.

Rees, who won the Harrogate Nova CC 10 last month, clocked a time of 19-56 which was cruelly denied victory by two seconds.

An interesting contest for third place also took place with Alastair Ribbands (Manchester Wheelers) posting a time of 20-50 which was 23 seconds quicker than Alistair Rutherford (Manchester Bicycle Club) (21-13).

Separate Manchester & District TTA championship events were held in both the juvenile and junior categories.

Xavier Teece-Round  (Innovation Racing) was quickest junior with his time of 23-17 beating Johnny Robinson (Sportcity Velo) into second 23-45.

Amy Loftus (East Bradford CC) was third junior overall and first girl with her time of 25-13 also the fastest posted by any female on the day.

In the juvenile category it was Evan Schofield (D2D Sheffield RT) who took first place with a time of 24-11, beating Tyler Jackson (North Cheshire Clarion) into second (25-47) while George Hales (3C Test Team) placed third 26-02.

Gail Lowe (Congleton CC) was winner of the women’s senior event setting a winning time of 26-47.

She beat Jeanette Barber (Seamons CC) into second (27-45) while Tracy Gregory (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles) finished third 30-07.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here -



1              Sam Watson       Team Inspired   19:54

2              Oliver Rees         Holmfirth CC      19:56

3              Alastair Ribbands             Manchester Wheelers   20:50

4              Alistair Rutherford          Manchester Bicycle Club               21:13

5              Ewan Mackie     Ilkeston Cycle Club           21:46

6              Mike Walker       Nantwich Cycling Group 22:19



1              Gail Lowe            Congleton CC     26:47

2              Jeanette Barber Seamons CC       27:45

3              Tracy Gregory    Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles       30:07



1              Evan Schofield   D2D Sheffield RT              24:11

2              Tyler  Jackson     North Cheshire Clarion   25:47

3              George  Hales    3C Test Team     26:02



1              Xavier  Teece-Round      Innovation Racing            23:17

2              Johnny Robinson              Sportcity Velo    23:45

3              Amy Loftus         East Bradford CC               25:13