Stowmarket & District CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Sep-21
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: B10/38
  • Closing Date: 24-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Chapman and Davies snatch victories in Stowmarket & District CC 10

  • Published: 06 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Lloyd Chapman

Lloyd Chapman (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) took victory by just eight seconds in the Stowmarket & District CC 10 while Laura Davies (Orwell Velo) was winner in an equally as close women’s event.

Lloyd recorded an average speed of over 31.57 miles per hour on their way to clocking a time of 19 minutes exactly.

The 32-year-old has now won nine events this season and goes in this weekend’s National 10 Mile Championships.

The B10/38 saw riders start outside Bury St Edmunds before heading south easterly on the A14 down to Woolpit before making the return journey.

Lloyd, from Ipswich, also won the Stowmarket & District CC 10 on the same course in May clocking 18-59 and was just marginally slower on this occasion.

Just eight seconds behind Lloyd was Mark Richards (DAP Cycling Club) who remains looking for a fourth win this season after taking second this occasion in 19-08.

Meanwhile, quickest veteran Nick Partridge (VC Baracchi) won a tight battle for third clocking 19-18 which was just two seconds faster than second veteran Matt O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) in 19-20.

Davies continued an impressive first season of open time trial action by taking another win and clocking a personal best time of 22-04 on this occasion.

The 26-year-old also won the C.C. Breckland 30 on her last outing and was victorious again over the shorter distance.

Veteran Becky Ridge (TPH Racing) led the charge behind and finished just 12 seconds down on Davies clocking 22-16.

In a close battle for the podium places fellow veteran Hannah O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) had to settle for third this time out a further 11 seconds back in 22-29.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.