VTTA (Yorkshire) (Cheques to B Buss)(Pref VTTA Members)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 19-Sep-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: v714
  • Closing Date: 08-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Dean and Smith take victories in VTTA Yorkshire 10

  • Published: 20 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Richard Dean

Veteran rider Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) snatched victory by just three seconds on scratch in the VTTA Yorkshire 10, while junior Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) put in an impressive ride to win the women’s event.

Meanwhile, 90-year-old Ron Hallam (South Pennine RC) was quickest veteran on handicap using a new age handicap system.

Dean, aged 41 and from Barnsley, showed his post-lockdown form in a tough event riding to victory in 20 minutes and 44 seconds.

Windy conditions on the exposed V714 impacted on times as riders enjoyed a tailwind out on the B1230 between Gilberdyke and Howden.

It was on the slightly longer return leg that the race was won against a tough wind which made for hard racing.

Abi Smith

Dean, who also won the Seacroft Wheelers 10 last year returned to action with a fifth place in the Harrogate Nova 10 last weekend.

On this occasion he was in a battle with Simon Beldon (Team Bottrill) for top honours finishing just three seconds ahead of his rival, while Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) finished third in 21-02.

“It was a hard day which suits me more,” said Dean. “It was really fast on the way out so I knew the longest leg back would be tough so I just dug in.

“I enjoyed it, it’s a tough course on a dead B road with a couple of train and motorway bridges which were really exposed.

“At the back end of last year I had my appendix out so I worked hard to come back this season and during lockdown, so I was looking forward to it.”

The new age handicap system is based on age with the handicap increasing slightly after each birthday.

Hallam clocked a time of 29-55 which gave him an age handicap time of 19-28.

Beldon was second on age handicap while Guilor was third.

Winner of the 72” medium gear category was Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Whls) in 24-10 while Rockingham CC duo Andy and Ala Whitehead were quickest tandem in 24-37.

Junior Women’s National 10 Mile champion Smith showed her strength to take an impressive victory in the women’s event clocking 22-29 which was good enough for 16th overall.

She will be hoping for a second national title next weekend in the National Junior Women 25 Championship.

Veteran Helen Goldthorpe (Otley CC) led the battle for second place in 25.12 while Maria Mulleady (Team Swift) completed the podium places in 25-33.

On the veteran age handicap system Louise Ryde (Team Swift) took top spot with her time of 25-56 making a handicap of 22-31.

Goldthorpe was second on age handicap while Liz Ball (Valley Striders CC) took third place.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) 20.44
2 Simon Beldon (Team Bottrill) 20.47
3 Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) 21.02
4 Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) 21.21
5 Andy Thomas (Lindsey Roads CC) 21.22
6 Jim Boyle (Born to Bike- Bridgtown Cycles) 21.27
7 Steve Gibson (Peak Road Club) 21.47
8 Richard Steels (Ilkeston Cycle Club) 21.53
9 Matthew Stonley (Mapperley CC) 21.55
10 Sean Quinn (Law Whs) 22.08

Under-23: Harry Nolan (trainSharp) 24.06

Tandem: Andy and Ala Whitehead (Rockingham CC) 24.37

72” Medium gear: Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Whls) 24.10


1 Abi Smith (Moonglu CC) 22.29
2 Helen Goldthorpe (Otley CC) 25.12
3 Maria Mulleady (Team Swift) 25.33

Junior: Abi Smith (Moonglu CC)