VTTA (Kent group)(all ages)(Kent group Champs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Sep-20
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 21.1 Miles
  • Course: Q25/12
  • Closing Date: 01-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell and Wilson take victories in shortened VTTA Kent 25

  • Published: 14 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell

Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) powered to a convincing victory in the shortened VTTA Kent 25, while Rebecca Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC) won the women’s event.

Work on a railway crossing on the course led to the VTTA Kent 25 being reduced to 21.08 miles.

National 25 Mile Champion Fennell continued his preparations to retain his title in two weeks’ time by going off scratch rider.

Fine conditions on the revised course led to fast times and Fennell was on pace for a course record if the original course was completed.

He eventually finished the 21.08 course in 39 minutes and 44 seconds to take victory by two minutes and 50 seconds.

Under-23 rider Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/b Trainsharp) continued his search for an open victory with another second place finish in 42-34, while Howard Shaw (trainSharp) completed the podium positions in 42-50.

Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) was quickest veteran finishing fifth overall in 44-14.

“I had a great ride and it was a nice opportunity to test the legs prior to the National 25 in two weeks’ time,” said Fennell.

“I would like to thank the organisers and the marshals for running an enjoyable and safe event. Importantly I must thank my sponsors The Independent Pedaler and Nopinz for all the support throughout this testing year.”

Rebecca Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC) finished third in the Catford CC over the full course last month in 1-03-18 but went two places better on this occasion to win the women’s event in 52-14.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1          Chris Fennell  The Independent Pedaler - Nopinz  00:39:44                                  

2          Josh Copley    TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/b Trainsharp  00:42:34                      

3          Howard Shaw trainSharp       00:42:50                                                          

4          Nicholas Fennell        Thanet RC       00:42:51                                                          

5          Andrew Meilak           VeloRefined Rule 5    00:44:14                                              

6          Peter Merritt   TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/b Trainsharp  00:44:28                      

7          Lewis Merritt  TWB - On Time Race Team   00:44:48                                              

8          Samuel Painter           TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/b Trainsharp  00:45:23          

9          Joe Austin       Sheppey Velo 00:45:34                                                                      

10        Robert Nicholas         Deal Tri           00:45:55                                                                                                                                  

Women: Rebecca Wilson      Rye & District Wheelers CC   00:52:41                      

Veteran: Andrew Meilak        VeloRefined Rule 5    00:44:14