Newbury RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 21-Jul-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: h15/1
  • Closing Date: 09-Jul-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Reynolds and Williams ride to victory in Berkshire

  • Published: 21 Jul 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Gareth Williams and Gillian Reynolds powered home through a stiffening wind to take the top prizes at the Newbury CC 15-mile time trial in Berkshire on Sunday morning.

Veteran rider Gareth Williams (Twickenham CC) clocked a time of 31-57 to take his second victory of the year, a month after finishing top in another Newbury CC hosted event.

Williams, 53, also narrowly missed out on the veteran on standard prize by two seconds. That prize went to Philip Watts (North Hampshire RC) who stopped the timekeepers +8-51 better than standard time.

After failing to finish in the top five in his first five events this season, Williams has turned his form around and now had two wins and a second place in his last three events.

Pasquale Chionchio (Westerley CC) managed his best placing on record to date as a previous best of fifth was upgraded to second after posting a time of 32-34.

In third, para-cyclist Jaco Van Gass (Para-T) was only three seconds behind Chionchio in 32-37.

The former military man has competed at numerous World Championships as part of the GB Para-cycling team and is a multiple national road cycling champion.

The women’s category was closely run as Gillian Reynolds (Willesden CC) emerged as fastest to take her first victory of the season.

Her previous best had last month in the Bedfordshire Road Club 10, finishing a close second to Jennie Tillott but a time of 40-48 gave her the narrow win this time around.

Rachel Green (Cheltenham & County CC) was only eight seconds behind Reynolds in second, clocking 40-56 while Anna Woodcock (Oxonian CC) was just a further second behind that in third.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



Pos  Name Club Cat  Time                          

1    Gareth Williams Twickenham CC   V    31:57

2    Pasquale Chionchio    Westerley Cycling Club     V    32:34

3    Jaco Van Gass   Para-T     C3   32:37

4    Angus  Macinnes Royal Air Force Cycling Association   V    32:41

5    Philip Watts    North Hampshire RC    V    32:42

6    Ian Greenstreet     AeroCoach  V    32:44

7    Tony Costello   Team Swindon Cycles   V    32:46

8    Nicolas Stagg   Hounslow & District Whs    V    33:24

9    Dafydd Williams Coventry Road Club    V    33:40

10   Matt Fisher     Newbury RC V    33:41

11   Mark Bradley    Bristol South Cycling Club V    33:42

12   Arthur     Boulton    Vision Innovative Leisure Racing  Team J    33:54

13   Glen Knight     Newbury RC V    33:57

14   Joe  Schvartz        Team Swindon Cycles   V    34:19

15   Stewart    House Arctic Aircon RT V    34:28

16   Rob  Vessey     Didcot Phoenix CC     V    35:04

17   Roger Foster     Banbury Star Cyclists' Club V    35:09

18   Stuart     Carver     North Hampshire RC    V    35:09

19   Graham     Giggs Bath Road Club  V    35:30

20   Sam  Boulton    Didcot Phoenix CC     V    35:32

21   Nick Mccormick  Epsom CC   V    35:45

22   Andrew     Payne Maidenhead & District CC   V    35:50

23   Alan Allcock    Didcot Phoenix CC     V    36:12

24   Paul Cooper     Performance Cycles CC V    37:44

25   Ian  Radburn    Oxonian CC V    38:07

26   Cliff Voller     Newbury RC V    38:37

27   Robert     Hutchinson Bristol South Cycling Club V    38:48

28   Stephen    Messenger Bicester Millennium CC     V    39:00

29   Michael    Murkin     Swindon Road Club     V    39:10

30   Jorj James Maidenhead & District CC   V    40:22

31   Gillian    Reynolds   Willesden CC    W    40:48

32   Rachel     Green Cheltenham & County Cycling Club W    40:56

33   Anna Woodcock   Oxonian CC W    40:57

34   Mary-Jane  Hutchinson Bristol South Cycling Club W    40:58

35   Joanna     Wells Hounslow & District Whs    W    41:29

36   Gillian    Morgan     Westerley Cycling Club     W    41:46

37   David Steel Hereford & Dist Whs CC     V    42:12

38   Brian      Lewis Bicester Millennium CC     V    42:33

39   Chris Lowe Swindon Road Club     V    43:09

40   Brian James Brighton Mitre CC     V    49:49

     Samantha   Messenger  Bicester Millennium CC     W    1:43:00

     Stuart     Gourley    Radeon-Cycology RT    S    1:30:00

     Jon  Rich KISS Racing Team (KRT)     S    1:33:00

     Rosslyn    Young Serpentine Running Club    W    1:46:00

     Bob  Loader     Sydenham Whs    V    1:54:00

     Emily Bickerton Farnham Triathlon Club     W    1:47:00

     Craig Bickerton  Farnham Triathlon Club     S    1:50:00

     Christopher     Edginton   Fairly United Cycling Team V    1:21:00