Orwell Velo

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Mar-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 20 Miles
  • Course: BS33
  • Closing Date: 19-Mar-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Proffitt wins, Ridge fastest female in Orwell Velo TT

  • Published: 01 Apr 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Andy Proffitt

Andy Proffitt (Ipswich BC) stormed to victory in the Renny Stirling Memorial time trial, staged over a 20-mile course in Suffolk by Orwell Velo on Saturday.

The 46-year-old from Felixstowe clocked 42-44 to take the win by more than a minute, while 38-year-old Becky Ridge (TPH) was fastest female with 51-13.

But Proffitt’s winning ride almost didn’t happen – his handlebars had worked loose as he sat waiting on the start line. Luckily, someone had an Allen key handy and helped him get ready to ride – and it was course record holder Ollie Jones, who was a non-starter in the event at Debenham!

Once on his way Profitt – and the rest of the riders – enjoyed a fine day on the BS33 course with a gentle tailwind on the long lanes from Ashfield to Occold, while high hedges offered competitors some protection on the return to Debenham.

Behind Proffitt, runner-up was Lucas He (Cambridge University CC) with 43-23, while Stuart Fairweather (Team Velovelocity) was another 31 seconds back in third place.

It was Proffitt’s second open time trial victory of the season according to his record, with a win in the Plomesgate CC 10 last month to his name.

Becky Ridge

This was Becky Ridge’s first open outing of the season, but she has ridden the BS33 course before. She clocked 55-03 in the Stowmarket & District CC event two years ago, so she has improved a lot over the last couple of years!

She next plans to ride the same course in Stowmarket’s 20-mile event on April 13.

In other categories, Ruth Purbrook (Ful-on-Tri) and Barnabus Purbrook (Nuun-Sigma-Sport) beat the all-male teams in the two-up event.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1   Andy Proffitt (Ipswich BC)                      42:44

2   Lucas He (Cambridge University CC) 43:23

3   Stuart Fairweather (VeloVelocity)        43:54

Ruth and Barnabas Purbrook

4   Julian Bosley (Stowmarket & District) 46:07

5   David Crisp (3T-RACING)                     46:08

6   Nick Partridge (VC Baracchi)               46:10

7   Simon Daw (Datalynx-Parenesis)       46:25

8   Barry Mcdonald (3T-RACING)              46:28

9   John Bradbury (CC Sudbury)              47:03         

10  Adrian Pettitt (Stowmarket & District) 47:04


Woman: Becky  Ridge  (TPH) 51:13