Birdwell Wheelers (entries close 01/05/19)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-May-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: o10/1
  • Closing Date: 01-May-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bromiley and Swoboda fastest in Birdwell Wheelers 10

  • Published: 12 May 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Liam Bromiley

Liam Bromiley and Claire Swoboda were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Birdwell Wheelers 10-mile time trial in South Yorkshire on Saturday.

Bromiley, the 26-year-old from Sheffield who rides for Sheffrec CC, clocked 20-10 to win by 40 seconds from team-mate Keith Ainsworth, while Nicholas Latimer (B38-Cycles in Motion) was another nine seconds down in third.

And in the women’s event Claire Swoboda, the 42-year-old VC St Raphael rider from Didsbury near Manchester, clocked 24-24 to win the Jim Carr Trophy as the fastest woman. Her time was 11 seconds quicker than Team Swift’s Kirsty Bramley.

In other categories Dominic Watts (Veloviewer) won the road bike event for the second year running in 23-41, which was 20 seconds quicker than Robert Fowler (Rutland CC).

The event was also a qualifier for the National GHS Youth Championship. James Hawkins (Common Lane Occasionals) was fastest with 24-17, while Ryan Williams (North Midlands Youth Squad) clocked 25-37 and also goes through to the national final.

Claire Swoboda

Bromiley, who receives the Taylor Trophy as overall fastest rider, was securing a Birdwell Wheelers double having also won their 25-mile event last month.

The event uses the popular O10/1 course which starts at Hatfield Woodhouse to the north east of Doncaster and heads down the A614 to Blaxton where riders turn around and head back up to finish just before the start point.

It was not Bromiley’s first open victory of the season so far – he also won the Coalville Wheelers 10 back in March as well as Birdwell Wheelers’ 25 on April 6 where Latimer was second.

Next weekend Bromiley is due to rude the Sheffrec CC 25 on the same O25/11 course, while he is also down to ride the Rutland CC 17.2-mile time trial the following Wednesday.

Swoboda’s victory was her first of the season so far, although she has shown some good form recently.

She was fourth in a highly competitive Derwentside CC 40-mile event last weekend, and prior to that she was second in April’s Kent Valley CC 28.5-mile event and the Matlock CC 25 in March.

Below the main podium placings in the men’s event Patrick Gould (Matlock CC) had to settle for fourth spot , 19 seconds behind Latimer in third, while Liam Bosley (Derby Mercury CC) was another 22 seconds back in fifth.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



position    name  club  time

1     Liam Bromiley     Sheffrec CC 20:10

2     Keith Ainsworth   Sheffrec CC 20:50

3     Nicholas Latimer  B38/Cycles In Motion    20:59

4     Patrick Gould     Matlock CC  21:18

5     Liam Bosley Derby Mercury  RC 21:40

6     Julian Ramsbottom Team Bottrill     21:51

7     James Punton      Transition RT     22:02

8     Michael Dodson    uk-featherflags/TRI RT  22:11

9     Richard Cordin    Matlock CC  22:15

10    Richard  Brown    Beacon Roads CC   22:21

11    Trevor Mayne      Birdwell Whs      22:23

12    Ciaran Pickering  Team Sportslab    22:38

13    Tristan Pilling   Team SB Hub 23:03

14    Paul Armstrong    B38/Cycles In Motion    23:04

15    Andy Whitehead    Rockingham CC     23:04

16    Matthew Last      Trinity Cycling Team    23:30

17    Robert Barnard    Team Cystic Fibrosis    23:36

18    Gordon Wordsworth Rutland     23:52

19    Andrew Curley     Warwickshire RC   23:57

20    Claire Swoboda    Velo Club St Raphael    24:24

21    Kirsty Bramley    Team Swift  24:35

22    Steve Cowlbeck    VTTA (N Mids)     24:47

22    Gary Thornton     Barnsley RC 24:47

24    Drew Donaldson    Glasgow United CC 24:50

25    John Eric Potter  Bridlington CC    25:07

26    Richard Hembrough Team Swift  25:12

27    Alix Archer Maxx RT     25:24

28    Michael Wilkinson North Notts Olympic CC  25:25

29    Bryce Taylor      Aylesbury CC      26:03

30    Anthony Keyworth  Kiveton Park      26:12

31    Fenella Brown     Bolsover and District CC      26:16

32    Thomas Booth      Sheffield Hallam Uni CC 26:19

33    Ben Hamilton      Rutland     26:22

34    Jonathon Dixon    Rapha       26:43

35    Charlotte Ridsdale      Rutland     26:51

36    Gary Clarke Rutland     27:00

37    Michael Weaver    Rotherham Whs     27:44

38    Peter Stirk Elmsall RC  29:46

39    James Lawley      Barrow Central Whs      35:02

      Nick  Moore uk-featherflags/TRI RT  dns(a)

      Maria Mulleady    Team Swift  dns(a)

      Al Norton   Harworth and District   dns(a)

      Kieran Smith      Bolsover and District CC      dns(a)

      Mark Connelly     Sitwell     dns

      Steven Hollowood  Kiveton Park      dns

      Sydney Wilson     Sheffield Phoenix       dns



Road Bikes:

position    name club  time

1     Dominic Watts     Veloviewer  23:41

2     Robert Fowler     Rutland Cycling Club    24:01

3     Jonathan Bray     Huddersfield Star Whs   26:59

4     Stuart Radford    VTTA (N Mids)     28:17

5     Danny Sampson     York Triathlon RT 28:44

6     Dave Johnson      Chesterfield Spire CC   29:59

      Mel Bentley West Yorks Police CC    dns


GHS North Midlands National Championship qualifiers:

position    name club  time

1 James Hawkins    Common Lane Occasionals   24:17

2 Ryan Williams      N Midlands Youth Squad        25:37