Manchester & DIstrict TTA (Cheques to M&DTTA)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Mar-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: j4/20
  • Closing Date: 26-Feb-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Hutchinson and Fairclough master the wind at Manchester 10

  • Published: 11 Mar 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Thomas Hutchinson

Thomas Hutchinson (Team Kirkley Cycles) and Michelle Fairclough (Salford CC) were fastest male and female riders respectively as Manchester and District TTA staged a 10-mile time trial near Allostock in Cheshire on Saturday.

Gale force winds gave the riders plenty to think about, although with temperatures around ten degrees and no rain, thankfully the event went ahead.

Hutchinson, 23 and from Gosforth near Newcastle, clocked 20-43 to win the event by 1-49 from Seamons CC veteran Adrian Hughes with third spot going to North Wirral Velo’s Robin Hennessy, just nine seconds further adrift.

Michelle Fairclough, the 43-year-old from Manchester, covered the course in 26-15 to win the women’s prize by almost nine minutes from Diana Bite (Univ of Manchester CC), although Bite had a five minute late start.

In other categories, Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) was fastest in the medium gear event with a time of 23-37. Buss, who was quickest by 1-23, went on to make it a double winning weekend with victory in Sunday’s Yorkshire CF 10 medium gear event too.

Michelle Fairclough

George Elliott (Innovation Racing) clocked 20-54 to win the junior prize by 59 seconds from Velo Runner RT rider Samuel Hall, while Sam Kelly (East Lancs RC) was quickest juvenile in 26-34.

Elliott’s time placed him second overall on the day, while Hall’s time put him third fastest overall.

From a start just north of Cranage, the course takes riders up through Allostock and onwards up the A50 until they turn left and head for Lower Peover. They then head south on Middlewich Road, over the M6 to the junction with Byley Lane before heading back over the motorway to finish just before the A50 junction.

Hutchinson rode prolifically in the North East last season. His 2018 victories include the Northumberland and Durham CA 100-mile Championship in September, while he was second in the Northumberland and Durham CA 50-mile Championship.

Fairclough last rode the J4/20 in an open event back in December, when she clocked 27-51 for third spot. She was 1-36 quicker on her way to victory in the latest event.

She was fourth in last weekend’s University of Manchester CC 10 near Chelford in her first open ride of 2019, while she is looking for more good performances this year, having entered several other rounds of the Manchester and District TTA Series as well as the Stretford Wheelers 10 and Withington Wheelers 25 later in the month.

* A gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1     Thomas Hutchinson Team Kikley Cycles      Sen   20.43

2     Adrian Hughes     Seamons CC  Vet   22.32

3     Robin Hennessy    North Wirral Velo Sen   22.41

4     John Spearman     Seamons CC  Vet   22.45

5     Martin Wiggan     Seamons CC  Vet   22.54

6     Philip Gleave     Congleton CC      Sen   23.07

7     Jonathon Lloyd    Westmead Team 88  Vet   23.42

8     Alister Fisher    Manchester Tri Club     Vet   23.46

9     Eric Grill  Aero Coach  Sen   23.53

10    James Brayford    Lyme Racing Club  Sen   23.59

11    David Bratt Pro Vision Cycle Clothing     Vet   24.04

12    Paul Nelson Chester Road Club Vet   24.15

13    Tim Marshall      Seamons Cycling Club    Vet   24.22

(14   Ronan O'Cualain   Seamons CC  Vet   24.36

(14   Daniel Walker     Frodsham Whs      Sen   24.36

(16   James Lindsay     Hoppers Rollers   Sen   24.52

(16   Matt Yardley      Macclesfield Whs  Vet   24.52

18    Graham Peel Crewe Clarion Whelers   Sen   25.01

19    Rob Kirk    Withington Whs    Vet   25.03

(20   Duncan McClaren   Stockport Clarion Vet   25.05

(20   David Wright      Warrington RC     Vet   25.05

(22   Michael Howard    Newcastle Staffs Triclub      Vet   25.30

(22   David Fox   Warrington RC     Vet   25.30

24    Mike Irvine Withington Whs    Vet   25.42

25    Barry Armstrong   Seamons CC  Vet   25.49

26    Paul Barber Seamons CC  Vet   26.10

27    Michelle Fairclough     Salford Cycling Club    Vet Lady    26.15

28    Nige Wood   Seamons CC  Vet   26.21

29    Robert Bagot      Warrington RC     Vet   26.27

30    Steve Cartlidge   Pro Vision Cycle Clothing     Vet   26.36

31    John Lowe   Withington Whs    Vet   26.40

32    Paul Jennings     Lyme Racing Club  Vet   26.43

33    James Humphries   Westmead Team 88  Vet   26.48

34    Dave Trippier     East Lancs RC     Vet   27.05

35    Graham Mcculloch  Stretford Whs     Vet   27.08

36    Bill Sedgewick    Southport CC      Vet   27.33

37    Mark Curley Crewe Clarion Whelers   Vet   25.17

38    Kenneth Trigger   Crewe Clarion Whelers   Vet   29.39

39    Michael Coulter   East Lancs RC     Vet   29.55

40    John Kirkham      Holcombe Harriers Vet   31.38

41    Diana Bite  University of Manchester      SLady 35.05

42    James Lawley(TRIKE)     Barrow Central Wheelers Vet   "43,18"

      Darius Ioan Bite  University of Manchester      Sen   DNS

      Derek Blacy Wigan Whs   Vet   DNS Apol

      Rod Goodfellow    North Lancs RC    Vet   DNSApol

      Robert Heathcote  Cheshire Mavericks      Sen   DNS

      Adam Darby  Transition Racing Team  Sen   DNS

      Gordon Wordsworth Rutland CC  Vet   DNSApol

      Martin Harney     Manchester Bicycle Club Vet   DNS

      Jeannette Barber  Seamons CC  LV    DNS

      Thomas Peoples    Cheshire Mavericks      Vet   DNS

      Kevin Woodward    Salford Cycling Club    Vet   DNS

      Rhianna Parkinson Salford Cycling Club    SenLady     DNS

      Tim Whitefoot     Crewe Clarion Whelers   Vet   DNSApol

      Jack Smith  Innovation Racing Sen   DNS

      Tom Cornforth     Rye & District Whs CC   Sen   DNS

      Liam Pilkington   North Cheshire Clarion  Sen   DNS

      Robert Taylor     Crewe Clarion Whelers   Sen   DNS

      Chris Lawson      Chester Road Club Vet   DNS

      Malcolm Horner    Warrington RC     Vet   DNS


      Juveniles   FINISHING ORDER        

No    Name  Club  Cat   Actual

1     Sam Kelly   East Lancs RC     Juv   26.34

2     Harry Wilson      Innovation Racing Juv   28.29

3     Charlie Rice      Mid Shropshire Whs      Juv   31.09

4     Olivr Smyth Macclesfield Whs  Juv   34.03

      Matt Hartley      East Lancs RC     juv   DNS



1     George Elliott    Innovation Racing Jun   20.54

2     Samuel Hall Velo Runner RT    jun   21.53

3     Chris Mann  Velotek Racing Team     jun   22.37

4     Syd Brown   Stretford Whs     jun   23.19

5     Tristan Pilling   Team SB Hub jun   23.38

6     Joel Ackers Innovation Racing jun   23.53

7     Niamh Coulter     East Lancs Road Club    jun   32.11

8     Niamh Coulter     East Lancs Road Club    jun  Lady   32.11

      Daniels Kucerjavijs     Team JRC    jun   DNS


      Medium Gear

1     Blair Buss  Halifax Imperial Whs    MG    23.37

2     Paul McAllister   Element Cycling Team    MG    25.00

3     Jymmy Trevor      Hull Thursday RC  MG    25.14

4     Rufus Brunt Seamons CC  MG    25.21

5     Dave Fearon Weaver Valley CC  MG    25.58

6     Bryce Ahworth     Nova CC     MG    27.18

7     Malc McAllister   Seamons CC  MG    33.18

8     David Steele      Lyme Racing Club  MG    33.41

7     Oliver Bentley    East Lancs Road Club    JUN   28.14