North Tyneside Riders CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 22-Apr-18
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0 Miles
  • Course: m27
  • Closing Date: 10-Apr-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Prentice leads GS Metro to a 1-2-3 in the North Tyneside Riders 27

  • Published: 22 Apr 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Thomas Prentice.

Talented junior rider Thomas Prentice led GS Metro to a clean sweep of the podium at the North Tyneside Riders 27-mile time trial in Northumberland on Sunday.

The Alnwick 16-year-old clocked 1-08-30 for the M27 course which loops anticlockwise from Rothbury and takes in the climbs of Bilsmoor and The Gibbet.

That time gave him the win by 39 seconds from team-mate Zeb Kyffin from Newcastle, while another GS Metro rider Dan Meggison took third, another four minutes back.

Around half of the field chose to ride road bikes for the lumpy and challenging course, with Mark Robertson (Army CU) making it look effortless in winning the road bike category with a time of 1-14-41.

Fastest female was Gemma Frost (Team Swift) with a time of 1-21-02, giving her the win by more than five and a half minutes from Miriam Jessett (Tyneside Vagabonds CC).

Riders didn’t have to wait long for the challenging conditions to bite, with a strong headwind shortly after the start just to the west of Rothbury. And as expected, an hour into the event it started to rain and added to the fun.

Gemma Frost.

Prentice placed 11th in the same event in 2017, but was more than seven minutes quicker this time on his way to victory. He has already tasted victory this season, having teamed up with Kyffin in the Blaydon CC two-up 18 two weeks ago.

But the hilly course was to his liking, and he displayed many of the skills that saw him take second spot in last season’s National Junior Hill-Climb Championship.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        club  gender      category    Time

1     Thomas      Prentice    GS Metro    Male  Junior      1:08:30

2     Zeb   Kyffin      GS Metro    Male  Espoir      1:09:09

Lee Cuthbertson.

3     Dan   Meggison    GS Metro    Male  Senior      1:13:06

4     Colin Atkinson    Muckle Cycle Club Male  Veteran     1:14:21

5     Daniel      Nieto Wigmore CC  Male  Espoir      1:14:28

6     Ian   Norris Male  Veteran     1:14:29

7     Mark  Robertson   Army Cycling Union      Male  Senior      1:14:41

8     Ross  Gray  Allen Valley Velo Male  Senior      1:15:18

9     Thomas      Gilbert     Team Newcastle Triathlon      Male  Senior      1:15:33

10    Jamie Johnson     Barnesbury CC     Male  Senior      1:16:57

11    Julian      MacBride    Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      1:17:39

12    lee   cuthbertson North Tyneside Riders CC      Male  Senior      1:17:56

13    James Hadfield    Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      1:18:50

14    Scott McCance     Derwentside CC    Male  Senior      1:19:31

15    Shaun Brannan     Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      1:20:04

16    Graeme      Wardale     South Shields Velo Cycling Club     Male  Veteran     1:20:06

17    Dan   Pons  Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      1:20:21

18    Neil  Wilkinson   Cestria C.C.      Male  Veteran     1:20:28

19    Chris Wood  TS Racing Team - OTR    Male  Veteran     1:20:34

20    Shaun Wilkinson   Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      1:20:34

21    Gemma Frost Team Swift  Female      Senior      1:21:02

22    Ben   Summers     North Tyneside Riders CC      Male  Senior      1:21:52

23    Mark  Herbert     Derwentside CC    Male  Veteran     1:23:40

24    Tim   Nichol      Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      1:23:52

25    David Sparrow     Reifen Racing     Male  Veteran     1:24:04

26    Tom   Guy   Sunderland Clarion      Male  Veteran     1:24:18

27    Paul  Wright      Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      1:24:18

28    Paul  Wass  Muckle Cycle Club Male  Veteran     1:24:30

29    Ian   Simon Breeze Bikes RT   Male  Veteran     1:24:34

30    Phil  Cook  Cestria C.C.      Male  Veteran     1:24:47

31    ian   gallon      North Tyneside Riders CC      Male  Veteran     1:25:10

32    Miriam      Jessett     Tyneside Vagabonds CC   Female      Espoir      1:26:33

33    Sebastian   Stockbridge Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      1:27:09

34    Mark  Whaley      Blaydon CC  Male  Veteran     1:27:38

35    Lee   Statham     Houghton CC Male  Veteran     1:28:34

36    keith davison     Hadrian R.T Male  Veteran     1:28:40

37    Michael     Brunskill   Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      1:29:09

38    Clive Allan Allen Valley Velo Male  Senior      1:31:15

39    Danny wilcox      North Tyneside Riders CC      Male  Veteran     1:32:31

40    Joanne      Rea   Blaydon CC  Female      Senior      1:32:44

41    Keith Sibbald     Cramlington CC    Male  Veteran     1:35:02

42    Christopher Thompson    Wansbeck CC Male  Veteran     1:37:02

43    Richard     Sill  Wansbeck CC Male  Veteran     1:37:12

44    Helen Parkin      Muckle Cycle Club Female      Senior      1:41:46

45    phil  dunn  Wansbeck CC Male  Veteran     1:45:56

46    Paul  Mitchell    Blaydon CC  Male  Veteran     1:46:30

      Jay   Pitt  Derwentside CC    Male  Senior      DNS

      Kristian    Forster     Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      APOL

      David Goodwin     Newcastle Cheviot CC    Male  Veteran     APOL

      Lester      Grant Auchencrow Thistle CC   Male  Senior      DNS

      Neil  Baxter Male  Veteran     APOL

      Jock  Bolam Breeze Bikes RT   Male  Veteran     APOL

      Phil  Hall  Breeze Bikes RT   Male  Veteran     DNF

      Gary  Hall  Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA Male  Veteran     APOL

      Stephen     Walton      Muckle Cycle Club Male  Veteran     DNF