Sportzmad (men)(240 riders in 2 events)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-May-18
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: r25/3h
  • Closing Date: 01-May-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Ainsworth and Lethbridge battle windy conditions for victories in Sportzmad 25

  • Published: 13 May 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Keith Ainsworth

A week after competition records were broken on the A465 dual carriageway towards Neath, windy conditions slowed times as Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) and Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) took victories.

Lethbridge, 33 and from Epsom in Surrey, had set a personal best of 50 minutes and 10 seconds last weekend on the R25/3H but blustery conditions on both the outward and homeward leg saw her clock 51.39 for victory on this occasion.

The R25/3h is renowned as one of the fastest 25-mile courses in the country and was the scene for Marcin Bialoblocki’s competition record of 42.58 last weekend but riders faced tougher conditions on this occasion.

Alice Lethbridge

Veteran rider Ainsworth, who won the Rossington Wheelers 10 last weekend, thrived in the windy conditions setting a winning time of 49.08 to win the men’s event by nine seconds.

He beat Paul Jones (Primera-Teamjobs) into second with a 49.17 while Andrew White (BPM Coaching) completed the podium a further three seconds behind.

In the women’s event Lethbridge’s time was easily enough for victory finishing over four minutes ahead of Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville) in 55.56 while Danuta Tinn (Maidenhead & District CC) took third clocking 57.19.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC)      49.08

2 Paul Jones (Primera-Teamjobs)        49.17

3 Andrew White (BPM Coaching)     49.20

4 Duncan Mullier (Harrogate Nova CC)        49.50

5 Philip Jones (Transition Race Team)            49.55

6 Peter Watson (Harrogate Nova CC)            50.01

7 Dean Ware (Team Backstedt Bike Performance)    50.05

8 Gavin Hinxman (Drag2Zero)           50.19

9 Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon RC)        50.31

10 Jeremy Ponting (VC Godalming & Haslemere)    50.36


1 Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero)         51.39

2 Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville)      55.56

3 Danuta Tinn (Maidenhead & District CC)  57.19