mid shropshire wheelers (pref to scca club members)(scca 9 of 16)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Jun-18
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: D10/23R
  • Closing Date: 05-Jun-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Evans and Niblett fastest at Mid-Shropshire Wheelers 10

  • Published: 17 Jun 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
George Evans

Team Bottrill-Vanguard rider George Evans and Hetty Niblett of the promoting club were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Mid-Shropshire Wheelers 10-mile time trial in Shropshire on Saturday.

Evans, the 20-year-old from Wrexham, covered the D10/23r course near Telford in 2-012 to win by just six seconds from Kirk Vickers (Rhino Velo RT), while Grant Bigham (VeloRunner RT) was third, another 46 seconds back.

Niblett, the 19-year-old from Shrewsbury who rides on the road for Keukens Redant CT in Belgium with help from Cycling Time Trials as well as the Dave Rayner Fund, was easily the fastest female with her time of 22-54.

That time was good enough for tenth overall, and she was fastest female by almost a minute and a half from runner-up Lucy Davies (Arctic Tacx RT).

The D10/23r course starts just north of Waters Upton and heads up the A442 and turns at the junction with the A53 before return south to a finish just before the start point.

The win for Evans was the latest in what is turning out to be a good 2018 for the 20-year-old. He started his season in February with a win in the Chester RC 14, and followed it up with another victory in the first round of the Knight Composites Classic TT Series. He has also been chasing a fast time over 25 miles, and posted a personal best 47-03 in South Wales in May.

Bryn Davies (Hafren CC) clocked 21-31 to be the fastest veteran, while top junior was Kieran Morris (Oswestry Paragon CC) with 22-39 for joint seventh place overall. And fastest juvenile was Sam Hall (VeloRunner RT) whose time of 22-50 gave him ninth overall, just ahead of Niblett.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.