Islington CC (Women have priority for 50% of places)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 21-Jul-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: F15/10
  • Closing Date: 10-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Tanfield and Lankford charge to victories in Islington CC 10

  • Published: 22 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Harry Tanfield

Harry Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers CC) was the only rider to go under 20 minutes as he took another victory at the Islington CC 10-mile time trial, while Sophie Lankford (Cardiff Ajax CC) won the women’s category.

Tanfield, 23 and from Middlesbrough, set a winning time of 19 minutes and 37 seconds along the C94, which runs alongside the A421 between Milton Keynes and Bedford.

He added the victory to the Stockton Wheelers 25 and the Hemel Hempstead 10 last month.

On this occasion he beat veteran rider Geir Robinson (Regents Park Rouleurs) who finished 45 seconds behind finishing in 20.22.

Further back a close battle for third saw Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon Cycling), John Lucock (Born to Bike- Bridgtown Cycles) and Ryan Morley (Royal Air Force Cycling Association) all finish within 11 seconds of each other.

It would be Clarke who took third in 20.41 with Lucock eight seconds behind and Morley finishing in 20.52.

Lankford also took a comfortable victory by almost one minute in the women’s event clocking a finishing time of 22.48 which was good enough for 14th overall.

After also winning the Team Cambridge 10 last weekend Lankford clocked an average speed of over 26 miles per hour on her way to victory on this occasion.

Gemma Johnson (Beacon Roads CC) was her closest challenger finishing in 23.46 while Sophie Lee (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) took third in 26.05.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.