witham wheelers cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Jun-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: C25/22
  • Closing Date: 19-Jun-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Gooding and Sinclair take the wins at Witham Wheelers TT

  • Published: 01 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Matt Sinclair

Wendy Gooding and Matt Sinclair were victorious at the Witham Wheelers 25-mile time trial in Lincolnshire on Saturday.

Sinclair, the 39-year-old Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT rider from Leicester, covered the C25/22 course near Silk Willoughby in 51-31 to win by 53 seconds from team-mate Lee Tunnicliffe, while third spot went to Mapperley CC veteran Ian Guilor, another 36 seconds back.

And in the women’s category, Wendy Gooding (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) clocked 1-02-38 to win by more than four and a half minutes from the promoting club’s own Louise George (Witham Wheelers), while Tracey George (Witham Wheelers) was third fastest woman.

For Sinclair, it was his sixth win in a row this season. He won the Matlock CC 25 last Sunday in a course record time, won the Sleaford Wheelers 15 last Saturday in another course record as well as the Matlock CC 10.

Wendy Gooding

Gooding’s victory came after she covered the course in 1-02-38. The 54-year-old from Oundle in Northamptonshire has been in great form this season.

Other open victories she has secured in 2018 include the Ely and District CC 10 last month, as well as the Peterborough CC 10 in May, the Leighton Buzzard Tri Club 10 in April and the Wisbech Wheelers 10 back in March.

Elsewhere in the result, James Gelsthorpe (Velo-One Cycling Team) took fourth spot and led them to the team prize alongside Antony Gough and Graham Wright who were sixth and eighth respectively.

The C25/22 course takes riders from a start on the A15 near Silk Willoughby, south through Osbournby and on to the A52 eastbound, turning at Donington and retracing back to Osbournby and back north to the finish near the start point.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.