welsh ca (welsh championship)(men) (championship field setting) (240 riders in 2 events) (chq to m heritage-owen)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Apr-17
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: r25/3h
  • Closing Date: 18-Apr-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Davies and Burns retain Welsh CA 25 titles

  • Published: 30 Apr 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Kieron Davies.

Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) clinched his fourth Welsh 25-mile men’s title while Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) also retained her women’s title on the fast R25/3H course in Neath, Wales.

Josh Griffiths (Bristol South CC) and Jack Rees (Cardiff Ajax) tied in the junior event with an impressive 53.33, for sixth and seventh fastest overall respectively in their event.

Davies, 30 and from St Clears in Carmarthenshire, clocked a winning time of 45 minutes and 24 seconds to clinch victory by almost two minutes.

It was the fourth time Davies has clinched Welsh title and despite windy conditions he clocked an average speed of 33 miles per hour on this occasion.

“A lot of people wanted to come here to do the course because of the reputation it has but when you get to the bottom of the descent it is still pretty hard work,” said Davies.

“It was fast going out and then the winner was whoever could hold their speed into the headwind. A lot of people had different techniques to tackle the conditions but it was just horses for courses.”

Davies’ time was enough for a clear victory over Ioan Smallwood (Cardiff Ajax CC) who set a personal best of 47.36 to finish second.

George Evans (Team Bottrill/HSS Hire) finished third a further 48 seconds behind.

Eileen Burns.

In the women’s event Burns travelled over from Northern Ireland for the second year running to retain her Welsh title by just two seconds.

Her time of 53.07 was over a minute faster than that she set to clinch victory on the same course last season.

Kate Allen (Drag2Zero) tried her hardest to take the title off Burns but fell agonisingly short, missing out by two seconds.

“I travelled over from Northern Ireland for the event looking for a fast time but wasn’t too sure whether to make the journey due to the weather forecast,” said Burns.

“It felt good on the way out but was very difficult on the return. With the weather forecast I knew it was going to be difficult but I’m happy with that time and for the win.”

Taking third place was Stephanie Post (VeloSistas TT Team) clocking 55.56.

In the non-championship overflow event Plant flew around the West Glamorgan course clocking an average speed of over 29 miles per hour to finish in a time of 51.35.

Colin Parry (Severn Valley Cycles) finished second in 51.56 while Tom Bowering (PMR at Toachim House) took third place in 52.53.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.