Bossard Wheelers CC (Charity Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Oct-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: F15/10
  • Closing Date: 05-Oct-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Salmon and Phillips snatch victories in Bossard Wheelers CC 10

  • Published: 17 Oct 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Junior rider Alfie Salmon (Lee Valley Youth CC) snatched victory by just two seconds in the Bossard Wheelers CC 10, while Katie Phillips (Veloccino Squadra Donne) won the women’s event by a single second.

Salmon, aged 17, took his second open time trial victory of the season clocking a winning time of 20 minutes and 52 seconds.

After placing sixth place in the juniors’ category at the National Closed Circuit Championships last weekend Salmon showed his form snatching victory by just two seconds.

The fast F15/10 saw riders start near Brogborough before traveling on Bedford Road which runs adjacent to the A421 past Marston Moretaine to the turn after 5.6 miles at Wootton.

The slightly shorter return journey saw riders finish before the ascent back up to the finish.

A sunny afternoon with hardly any wind greeted riders for the event on a course which is popular one for local riders.

Salmon also won the Victoria CC 10.2 in June and was pushed all the way for his second open win by experienced veteran Keith Dorling (Team Bottrill) who finished just two seconds back in 20-54.

Riding his first open time trial 16-year-old Angus Stoneham (Beaconsfield CC) completed the podium positions taking third place overall in 21-05.

Dorling was a clear victor in the veteran’s category beating Antony Brown (George Fox Cycling Solutions) into second clocking 21-22 which was just seven seconds quicker than Stuart Supple (VC Baracchi) in 21-29.

Meanwhile, the women’s event was even closer with Phillips, aged 31, clocking a winning time of 23 minutes and 51 seconds just one second faster than Linda Dewhurst (Team Milton Keynes).

On her last outing on the same course Phillips won the Team 10 clocking a winning time of 23-45 on that occasion.

Veteran rider Dewhurst was narrowly pushed into second clocking 23-52 while trike rider Lauren Pike (Lincoln Wheelers CC) completed the podium positions in 33-28.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.