Newbury RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Jun-21
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: H10/17R
  • Closing Date: 25-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

West and Buckland charge to victories in Newbury RC 10

  • Published: 06 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Jo Buckland

Robert West (AeroCoach) took a slender victory by just three seconds in the Newbury RC 10, while Jo Buckland (Fulfil the Potential Racing) won the women’s event.

Veteran West clinched his first victory of the season on Sunday afternoon clocking a winning time of 19 minutes and 32 seconds.

Conditions were favourable for riders on the H10/17R taking place on the out and back A420 course near Kingston Bagpuize in Oxfordshire.

West placed second in the Newbury Velo 15 last weekend but went one better on this occasion taking his first open win of the season.

Just three seconds behind was scratch rider and fellow veteran Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) finishing second (19-35).

David Holland (Cowley Road Condors CC) completed the podium positions a further 15 seconds back in 19-50.

In the women’s event it was veteran Buckland who was a clear victor taking her second win of the season in a season’s best time of 22-52.

Buckland’s other win came in the Chippenham & District Wheelers 10 finishing in 23-58 on that occasion.

Last time out on the H10/17R Buckland finished third clocking 23-56 but went almost a minute quicker this time out.

Veteran Teresa Robbins (Reading CC) led the fight for the remaining podium places taking second in 23-47 while Yasmeen Mahmoud (Viceroys Triathlon Club) finished third (24-42).

The tandem event was won by Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott (Newbury Velo) who continued their winning form clocking 19-44.

Peter Oliver and Mark Cox (ZeroBC Race Team) finished second in 22-24 while Hannah and David Newman (Westerley Cycling Club) took third (28-15).


1 Robert West (AeroCoach) 19.32
2 Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) 19.35
3 David Holland (Cowley Road Condors CC) 19.50
4 Tim Lewis (Ful-on-Tri) 20.36
5 Josh Newbould (Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club) 20.38
6 Angus Hawkins (Spirit Tifosi RT) 20.40

1 Jo Buckland (Fulfil The Potential Racing) 22.52
2 Teresa Robbins (Reading CC) 23.47
3 Yasmeen Mahmoud (Viceroys Triathlon Club) 24.42

Tandem: Ian Greenstreet & Rachael Elliott (Newbury Velo) 19.44