High Wycombe Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Jul-21
  • Time: 16:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: H10/2
  • Closing Date: 22-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Host club riders Charleston and Ford win at High Wycombe Cycling Club 10

  • Published: 06 Jul 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

High Wycombe CC riders Adam Charleston and Dena Ford brought home victories for the host club at the High Wycombe Cycling Club 10.

On a good day for the organising club Charleston clocked a time of 20 minutes and 29 seconds which was just five seconds quicker than team-mate Jamie Copus.

The H10/2 saw riders start near Maidenhead before joining the A4 in the south-westerly direction towards Reading before making the return journey.

The event, in memory of Margaret Wright, was moved from the original Good Friday date in the hope Covid-19 conditions would have been eased.

A poor forecast led to many riders choosing not to start, but those that did ride were treated to good conditions and a largely sheltered course from the wind.

Under-23 rider Charleston took his first ever open victory clocking a winning time of 20-29, one place better than his second in the Newbury Velo 10 in May.

Meanwhile, fellow High Wycombe CC rider Jamie Copus finished just five seconds back with a best open placing of second in 20-34.

A close battle for third saw Joe Shepherd (Kingston Phoenix RC) clock 21-37 which was just two seconds quicker than Frederick Purcell (Regents Park Rouleurs) (21.39).

With three riders inside the top-six places High Wycombe CC took the team prize with Charleston and Copus joined by Chris Ford who clocked 21-57.

Meanwhile, in the men’s road bike category John Franklin (Twickenham CC) took top honours in a time of 22-39.

Ford continued the dominance by host club High Wycombe by winning the women’s event in a time of 23-13.

On her only other outing this season Ford placed fourth in the High Wycombe 25 but went much better on this occasion.

In the High Wycombe 25, Danuta Tinn (Maidenhead & District CC) beat Ford but saw the result reversed on this occasion finishing 11 seconds down in 23-34.

Quickest road bike rider Amelia Davies (Regents Park Rouleurs) was third woman overall in 25-16.

Ford was also overall quickest veteran on standard with her time equating to +6.19 with fellow woman Tinn placing second (+6.04) while Chris Ford (High Wycombe CC) was third (+5.31).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Adam Charleston (High Wycombe CC) 20.29
2 Jamie Copus (High Wycombe CC) 20.34
3 Joe Shepherd (Kingston Phoenix RC) 21.37
4 Frederick Purcell (Regents Park Rouleurs) 21.39
5 Crispin Knill (Maidenhead & District CC) 21.47
6 Chris Ford (High Wycombe CC) 21.57

Team: High Wycombe CC

Road bike: John Franklin (Twickenham CC) 22.39

1 Dena Ford (High Wycombe CC) 23.13
2 Danuta Tinn (Maidenhead & District CC) 23.34
3 Amelia Davies (Regents Park Rouleurs) 25.16

Road bike: Amelia Davies (Regents Park Rouleurs) 25.16