GS Metro (Hedley on the Hill)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 19-Sep-21
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: MH11
  • Closing Date: 07-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Munro and Farran snatch victories in GS Metro climb

  • Published: 19 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nick Munro. Photos by Dub Devlin Photography.

Nick Munro (Royal Air Force CA) took a narrow victory in the GS Metro climb at Hedley on the Hill, while Hannah Farran (Team Boompods) dominated the women’s field to come away with a comfortable win.

The conditions on the day were not great, riders were greeted with a wet and muggy display and it then began to rain heavily just as the event got underway.

In a climb that could not have been closer, Munro pipped scratch man Jacob Vezey (Harrogate Nova CC) so marginally that the winner was decided by a decimal point. The winning time from Munro was 4:40.3.

4:40.7 was the time that saw Vezey have to settle for second place. John Bowman (Muckle CC) was the rider to take the final spot on the podium, finishing just two seconds off the pace with a time of 4:42.1.

Earlier this month Munro started his hill climb season with second place in the Team Bikeshop Tyrekey event, and he went one better in dramatic fashion with his battle with Vezey.

After the event Munro said: “It was definitely worthwhile coming today, despite the wet conditions. A few riders slipped just off the start but I managed to control things.

Hannah Farran

“I was surprised to get the win, especially after how I felt whilst on the climb, but I obviously managed to keep some strength as I felt my finish was strong. It’s nice to get my first Open hill climb win – I’m hoping to make it to this year’s National Hill Climb so the win today might improve my Spindata scoring.”

In the women’s event it was Hannah Farran that claimed the victory, riding a time of 5:48.8, a whole minute ahead of the second placed woman.

Coming in that second place was Angela McGurk (Blaydon CC), she finished the course in 6:53.2. Trailing was Gemma Hutchins (Blaydon CC) who was exactly seven seconds behind her team-mate, clocking a time of 7:00.2 to finish off the podium spots.

Fastest junior on the day was Benjamin Johnston (Racing Metro) in 5:09.0 and eighth overall. At the other end the fastest veteran award went to Graeme Wardale (South Shields Velo CC) who finished in 5:01.5 and was sixth overall.

A special mention to juvenile rider Mason Bulfin (North Tyneside Riders) who arrived at the start to discover he had a deflating rear tyre. This did not deter Mason and he slogged his way uphill – a commendable attitude, and the 13-year-old went on to finish the course in 7:38.9.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name  Club  Gender      Cat   Time

1     Nick Munro  Royal Air Force Cycling Association     Male  Senior      04:40.3

2     Jacob Vezey Harrogate Nova CC Male  Senior      04:40.7

3     John Bowman Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      04:42.1

4     Lee Cuthbertson  Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      04:44.2

5     Matthew Smith    Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      04:53.6

6     Graeme Wardale   South Shields Velo Cycling Club    Male  Vet   05:01.5

7     Noel Stoddart    Blaydon CC  Male  Vet   05:03.1

8     Benjamin Johnston Racing Metro 15  Male  Junior      05:09.0

9     Adam Wood   Muckle Cycle Club Male  Vet   05:11.8

10    Philip Gilbanks  Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:13.1

11    Rob De'Giovanni  Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:15.3

12    Ben Wilkinson    Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:16.3

13    Benn Hall   Dunstable Road Cycling Club  Male  Senior      05:17.8

14    Steven Armstrong Derwentside CC   Male  Senior      05:18.8

15    Leon Potter Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:21.3

16    Wilson-Jay Brown PM Racing UK     Male  Vet   05:21.4

17    Euan Dinning     Gosforth RC Male  Juvenile    05:23.1

18    Jordan Matthews  Velo Culture     Male  Senior      05:28.1

19    Joe Stringer     Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:43.5

20    David Zucher     Muckle Cycle Club Male  Espoir      05:45.2

21    Ian Gallon  North Tyneside Riders CC     Male  Vet   05:45.9

22    Daryl Ahomet     Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:46.7

23    Hannah Farran    Team Boompods    Female      Senior      05:48.8

24    Brendan McMillan Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service CC    Male  Senior      05:48.9

25    Craig Berry Reifen Racing    Male  Vet   05:49.2

26    Joe Reed    Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:55.6

27    Ben Swinney Muckle Cycle Club Male  Senior      05:57.4

28    Jonathan Cairns  North Tyneside Riders CC     Male  Senior      06:13.8

29    Michael Trow     Blaydon CC  Male  Vet   06:33.9

30    Stephen Pattison Muckle Cycle Club Male  Vet   06:42.9

31    Angela McGurk    Blaydon CC  Female      Vet   06:53.2

32    Gemma Hutchins   Blaydon CC  Female      Vet   07:00.2

33    Heather Witham   Blaydon CC  Female      Vet   07:01.8

34    Lois Jarvis North Tyneside Riders CC     Female      Senior      07:22.2

35    Mason Bulfin     North Tyneside Riders CC     Male  Juvenile    07:38.9

36    David Lavery     North Tyneside Riders CC     Male  Vet   07:55.7

37    Mick Chappel     North Tyneside Riders CC     Male  Vet   07:56.4

38    Ray Bell    Derwentside CC   Male  Vet   08:52.6

Apol  Andrew Smith     Derwentside CC   Male  Vet   Apol

Apol  Barry Kelly Barnesbury CC    Male  Senior      Apol

Apol  Guillaume Zoppi  North Tyneside Riders CC     Male  Vet   Apol

Apol  Simon Emsley     Derwentside CC   Male  Vet   Apol

Apol  Lee Ager    Blaydon CC  Male  Senior      Apol

Apol  Rafe Williams    Team Bikestop Tyrekey  Male  Senior      Apol