Severn RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Oct-21
  • Time: 14:30
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: UH90
  • Closing Date: 21-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Coyne and Haywood battle to victories in Severn Road Club climb

  • Published: 03 Oct 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Madeleine Heywood

Josh Coyne (BPM Coaching) was once again victor on the Hinton hill climb organised by Severn Road Club, while Madeleine Heywood (Team Watto) was winner of the women’s event.

Coyne, aged 26, has won previous editions of the event and was once again the winner finishing in a time of two minutes and 1.6 seconds.

The short climb of approximately half a mile sees riders climb out of Hinton with varying gradients with a maximum of 13.9% towards the top.

Relentless rain greeted riders for the event with a third of the entrants not starting on the UH90 climb.

Coyne won his first event of the season last weekend in the Mid-Devon CC event on Widecombe and was again victorious on this occasion improving on his fourth-place finish in last year’s event – going 0.1 seconds quicker this year.

Archie Cross (Bristol Road Club) finished runner-up in the FTP Racing 10 road bike category earlier this season and was again in second this time out in 2-03.5.

Finishing a single second behind Cross in a close third place was Arion Oates (PDQ Cycle Coaching) with a time of 2-04.9.

Fastest juvenile was Jacob Johnson (Bristol South Cycling Club) who completed the course in 2-24.1 while James Davenport (VMCC Powered By Y Beic) was quickest junior clocking 2-17.8.

In the veteran’s category Danny Lake (360VRT) was fastest in 2-12.9 ahead of Steve Thomas (Bristol Road Club) in second (2-16.7) while Karl Norris (360VRT) placed third (2-21.4)

In the women’s event Madeleine Heywood (Team Watto) took her second victory of the season clocking a time of two minutes and 26.6 seconds –15 seconds quicker than her nearest rival.

After winning the Sheffrec CC hill climb on Woodfall Lane in August, Heywood has been denied in recent weeks by National Hill Climb Champion Bithja Jones (Pankhurst Cycles) and road rider Illi Gardner (CAMS Racing).

However, she was back on top spot on this occasion and was just six seconds off the 2-20.5 course record posted by Anna Fischer in 2010.

Leading the chase behind was Emily Slavin (Avid Sport) who finished second in 2-41.1 while Kate Mactear (Bristol South Cycling Club) completed the podium positions posting a time of 2-45.5.

The quickest veteran was Vivienne Tomlin (Avid Sport) who posted a time of 3-20.0.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Josh Coyne (Bpm Coaching) 2:01.6
2 Archie Cross (Bristol Road Club) 2:03.5
3 Arion Oates (PDQ Cycle Coaching) 2:04.9
4 Carl Jolly (73 Degrees Bicycles, WestSide Coaching Rt) 2:07.1
5 Andrew Kirby (73 Degrees Bicycles, WestSide Coaching Rt) 2:09.5
6 James Scrivener (Reading CC) 2:11.1

1 Danny Lake (360VRT) 2:12.9
2 Steve Thomas (Bristol Road Club) 2:16.7
3 Karl Norris (360VRT) 2:21.4

1 Madeleine Haywood (Team Watto) 2:26.6
2 Emily Slavin (Avid Sport) 2:41.1
3 Kate Mactear (Bristol South Cycling Club) 2:45.5
4 Vivienne Tomlin (Avid Sport) 3:20.0