Matlock CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-May-21
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: A10/16
  • Closing Date: 20-Apr-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Evans and Gammons take wins in Matlock CC 10

  • Published: 02 May 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Dan Evans

Dan Evans (ASSOS Speed Club UK) took his first victory of the season by over a minute in the Matlock CC 10 while Maddie Gammons (Jadan CycleSpace- Vive Le Velo) took a slender 10-second win in the women’s event.

Evans, aged 39, got his season under way with a third place in a hotly contested Mersey Tri 10 last weekend but was a comfortable victor in Derbyshire clocking a winning time of 20 minutes and 48 seconds.

The traditional out and back A10/16 saw riders start near Darley Hillside before heading out on the A6 through Rowsley before turning for home at Bakewell.

Cold and slower conditions than expected greeted riders with a headwind out with Evans going a minute slower than his 19-43 clocked last weekend, but still taking victory.

The battle behind saw eight riders separated by a minute with Oliver Bridgewood (Bath Cycling Club) leading the charge in 22-10 which was 10 seconds quicker than Daniel Ward (South Normanton CC (22-20).

Leading veteran on scratch was Carl Owen (Team Ohten Avea) who just missed the podium positions by 14 seconds (22-34).

Maddie Gammons

Nicholas Cousins (Ilkeston Cycle Club) was second veteran on scratch in 22-45 while Jonathan Lloyd (Westmead Team 88) was third in 23-59.

Quickest juvenile was Theo Simpson (Moda Racing Team) whose impressive time of 22-49 took seventh overall while Carrick Hewing (Team HUUB) was fastest junior in 23-07.

Meanwhile, in the women’s event Gammons, aged 21 and from Bourne in Lincolnshire, saw off the competition from Team Breeze to take victory.

Gammons won the Melton Olympic 10 the previous week and was again on top form clocking a winning time of 23-38.

The top four riders in the women’s event were separated by just 15 seconds in a close finish.

Eluned King finished just 10 seconds down on Gammons in 23-48 ahead of Team Breeze team-mates Sophie Lewis (23-50) and Megan Barker (23-53).

Jessica Evans (ASSOS Speed Club UK) was quickest woman veteran in a time of 26-03.

“It was good although I thought the course was going to be quicker,” said Gammons.

“It was really close this morning and I came across the line pleased as I wasn’t far off my personal best on quite a slow day, seeing the results I was really pleased.

“I’m going away from time trialling to focus on road racing but will be back towards the end of the season training for the National Championships.”




1              Dan        Evans    ASSOS Speed Club UK     0:20:48

2              Oliver    Bridgewood       Bath Cycling Club              0:22:10

3              Daniel   Ward     South Normanton C C     0:22:20

4              Carl        Owen    Team Ohten Aveas          0:22:34

5              Matthew             Bagshawe           South Normanton C C     0:22:45

5              Nicholas               Cousins Ilkeston Cycle Club           0:22:45

7              Theo      Simpson               Moda Racing Team          0:22:49

8              Karl        Baillie    Witham Wheelers           0:22:50

9              James   Mellor   7 Hills Cycling Club           0:22:58

10           Anthony              Lock       Manchester Wheelers   0:23:03

11           Carrick  Hewing Team HUUB       0:23:07

12           Josh       Housley Team PB Performance   0:23:16

13           Madeleine          Gammons           Jadan CycleSpace- Vive Le Velo  0:23:38

14           Eluned  King       Team Breeze     0:23:48

15           Sophie  Lewis     Team Breeze     0:23:50

16           Megan  Barker   Team Breeze     0:23:53

17           Jonathan             Lloyd     Westmead Team 88        0:23:59

18           Richard Brown   Bolsover and District CC 0:24:10

19           Emma   Mitchell                Rossington Wheelers Cycling Club             0:24:50

20           Rebecca               Lineker South Normanton C C     0:25:07

21           Paul       Fox         Army Cycling      0:25:09

22           Mark     Rowbottom        Chesterfield Coureurs CC              0:25:23

22           Tom       Jackson Belper Ten Twenty Triathlon Club             0:25:23

24           Matt      Waterfield          South Normanton C C     0:25:30

25           Winston               Southwell            Sheffield Triathlon Club 0:25:53

26           Jessica  Evans    ASSOS Speed Club UK     0:26:03

27           Alex       Hodgkinson        Ilkeston Cycle Club           0:26:13

27           Peter     Down    Tickhill Velo Club              0:26:13

29           Philip     Wright  DR J Performance            0:26:34

30           Martin  Lee         Bury Clarion CC 0:26:38

31           Liz           Saxton  South Normanton C C     0:27:43

32           Gary      Morrison             South Normanton C C     0:27:56

33           Robert  Marley  Sleaford Wheelers Cycling Club  0:28:44

34           Mark     Minting Dinnington Racing Club  0:28:49

35           Mark     Dunn     Ilkeston Cycle Club           0:29:49

36           Lydia      Turan    Holmfirth C C     0:30:55