Manchester & District TTA (Cheshire points series 2 of 20)(Inc VTTA Manchester m/c NW group )

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Oct-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: J4/20
  • Closing Date: 12-Oct-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Norbury and Loftus quickest in Manchester & District TTA 10

  • Published: 24 Oct 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Ben Norbury (Congleton CC) snatched victory by just two seconds in the Manchester & District TTA 10, while Amy Loftus (East Bradford CC) was the quickest female competitor riding in the junior event.

Taking part in just his second open 10-mile event of the season Norbury raced to his first time trial victory of 2021 clocking a time of 21 minutes and 13 seconds.

The 37-year-old best result this season prior to Saturday’s event was a second in the Manchester & District TTA 50 when he clocked 1-50-14.

Despite his absence from open 10s this season Spindata had predicted a victory for Norbury in 21-16 and he recorded that result but three seconds faster than predicted.

The event was the third one in successive weeks that the Manchester & District TTA had held on the J4/20 course in Cheshire.

The undulating course of the J4/20 saw riders start on Moss Lane, near Byley, before heading out to turn onto the A50 at Cranage and head north.

Once competitors reached Toft they headed back south on the B5081 back through Lower Peover to the finish.

Competitors were met with dry but chilly conditions of 12 degrees for the late season event with a tailwind on the main stretch of the course to help boost times but a headwind at the finish.

Norbury has been more familiar with hill climbing in recent weeks and honed his form ahead of next week’s National Championships with a narrow victory.

Scratch rider and quickest veteran Alan Chorley (Seamons CC) was denied victory by two seconds with a time of 21-15 – some five seconds faster than his Spindata prediction.

Leading the fight behind the leading two riders was Mat Stephenson (Congleton CC) who clocked 22-19.

Second veteran Mike Walker (Nantwich Cycling Group) led the home the remainder of the field taking fourth this time out in 22-33 ahead of the quickly improving Alex Critcher (Glossop Kinder Velo).Archie Fletcher (Innovation Racing) was a clear victor in the juvenile’s category clocking 23-13 which pushed Tyler Jackson (North Cheshire Clarion) into second (25-56) while quickest girl Alice Feetham (Sportcity Velo) was third and fast girl in 26-07.

The junior category was won by Maxwell Hereward (Green Jersey CC) whose time of 21-24

Was quicker than Xavier Teece-Round (Innovation Racing) in second  (22-51) while Max Jones (Innovation Racing) finished third in 22-53.

Meanwhile, Loftus was the quickest female on the day winning the junior girls’ category in a time of 25 minutes and 15 seconds.

A consistent end to her season also saw Loftus win the Manchester & District TTA 10 events the previous took weeks clocking 25-13 and 25-21 on them occasions.

In the women’s category Gail Lowe (Congleton CC) added another win to her collection in a time of 26-31 beating team-mate Alison Stephenson into second (28-05) while Anne Haslam (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles) finished third (29-06).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1              Ben Norbury      Congleton CC     21:13

2              Alan Chorley      Seamons CC       21:15

3              Mat Stephenson              Congleton CC     22:19

4              Mike Walker       Nantwich Cycling Group 22:33

5              Alex  Critcher     Glossop Kinder Velo Cycling Club               23:05

6              Philip Gleave     Congleton CC     23:17



1              Gail Lowe            Congleton CC     26:31

2              Alison Stephenson          Congleton CC     28:05

3              Anne Haslam      Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles       29:06



1              Archie Fletcher Innovation Racing            23:13

2              Tyler  Jackson     North Cheshire Clarion   25:56

3              Alice Feetham   Sportcity Velo    26:07



1              Maxwell Hereward          Green Jersey CC 21:24

2              Xavier  Teece-Round      Innovation Racing            22:51

3              Max Jones           Innovation Racing            22:53

Girl: Amy Loftus (East Bradford CC) 25.15