…a3crg Glorious Goodwood Circuit TT (Road Bike)(Men)(5 laps)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 26-Jul-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 11.8 Miles
  • Course: P917
  • Closing Date: 10-Jul-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Simmonds and Day victorious at a3crg time trial

  • Published: 27 Jul 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Multiple national champion and competition record holder Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) and talented junior rider Thomas Day were fastest on time trial bikes as a3crg staged events at the Goodwood motor circuit in West Sussex on Sunday.

Simmonds clocked 25-44 for the five-lap women’s event to win by just eight seconds from Jennifer George (Memorial Santos), while Caitlin Peters (Torelli) was third with 26-39.

And in the men’s five-lap time trial category victory went to junior Day (Zannata Galloo Team) with 22-37, which was more than a minute quicker than runner-up Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport) with 23-49, while Matthew Downie (NOPINZ) was third, another 12 seconds back.

The event – believed to be the first time a CTT event has been held at the venue – included five-lap road bike categories too, and it was Red Walters (NOPINZ) who proved quickest there with 24-29, giving him the win by 1-26 from Chris Loake (AeroCoach), while South Downs Bikes rider Stuart Bettis was third.

In the women’s road bike event Marianne Holt (Team Bottrill) was the winner with 29-25, just short of three minutes better than Joanne Clarke (VC Venta), while Sandra Sellis (Petersfield Tri Club) was third.

The 14-15-year-old juveniles covered four laps and the winner was Matthew Gilmour (VC Venta) with 21-24 while Katie-Anne Calton (Solent Pirates YCC) was best female. And in the three-lap event for 11-13-year-olds Alex Murphy (VC Venta) was victorious with 17-09.

trainSharp won the TT bike team category thanks to Howard Shaw, Brett Davis and Marc Townsend, while the women’s equivalent was won by a3crg with their trio being made up on Kirsty McSeveney, Gemma Dobson and Virginia McGee.

And on road bikes South Downs Bikes were the winning team with Stuart Bettis, Tom Houghton and Paul Barnard, with Petersfield Tri Club winning the women’s team category on road bikes with Sandra Sellis, Joanne Crisp and Lorraine van Coller.

The conditions were glorious for the event, with riders enjoying the smooth tarmac too. Many will be back for more next weekend!

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.