Sussex CA

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Oct-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: GH/92
  • Closing Date: 22-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wins for Nerurkar and Webb in Steyning

  • Published: 04 Oct 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Lukas Nerurkar and Olivia Webb stormed to victory in the Sussex CA hill climb in Steyning on Saturday.

The event saw 34 riders attempt the 1,704-yard climb starting at Bostal Road in Steyning, rising to finish at top of the hill. It was junior VC Londres rider Nerurkar who clocked the quickest time with his standard of 3:57.8.

That time was enough to give the 16-year-old a winning margin of 23.56. David Ross of LFGSS CC was in second place, the 35-year-old continuing from his run of four top ten finishes since the start of the season.

Ross’ time of 4:21.4 saw him claim second spot on the podium by the narrowest of margins with veteran rider Richard Cartland ( just three tenths of a second off in 4:21.7. Cartland, 42, recorded the best veteran time and GS Stella’s Tony Reeves, 49, finished runner-up in 5:09.5.

Finishing comfortably in the top 25, 51-year-old Olivia Webb of Eastbourne Rovers CC was the fastest woman on the day, stopping the clock at 5:37.4 to hand her the top prize by 19.1 seconds from 27-year-old Katie Simmonds (URDT) in 5:56.5.

Veteran Debbie Percival of Kent Velo Girls/Boys took third place with the 58-year-old completing in 6:02.3.

The team prize was awarded to Team TMC with Steven Kane, Matthew Smith and Martin Gibbs combining for a time of 15 minutes on the nose.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. 




1. Lukas Nerurkar (VC Londres) 03:57.8

2. David Ross (LFGSS CC) 04:21.4

3. Richard Cartland ( 04:21.7


1. Olivia Webb (Eastbourne Rovers CC) 05:37.4

2. Katie Simmonds (URDT) 05:56.5

3. Debbie Percival (Kent Velo Girls/Boys) 6:02.3

Veteran: Richard Cartland (

Junior: Lukas Nerurkar (VC de Londres)

Team: Steven Kane, Matthew Smith and Martin Gibbs (Team TMC) 15:00.0