Minehead Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 20-Sep-20
  • Time: 09:30
  • Distance: 4 Miles
  • Course: uh10
  • Closing Date: 08-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Laverack and Coates power to victories in Minehead Cycling Club HC

  • Published: 22 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nicole Coates

National Hill Climb Champion Ed Laverack (VAMos.CC) showed his dominance on the Minehead Cycling Club HC while Nicole Coates (Torelli) put in an equally as powerful display to win the women’s event.

After finishing second in the same event in 2017 and 2018 Laverack took top spot over the four miles long Porlock Hill Climb this year in a time of 13 minutes and 24 seconds.

The Toll Road, which runs adjacent to the steep A39, is a much gentler climb out of Porlock with an average gradient of 5.5 per cent and a maximum of eight per cent.

With an elevation gain of 370 metres the climb as alpine style switch backs and once again attracted a big field of 120 entrants.

On the last two occasions on the climb Laverack clocked 14-42 and 14-40 but went over a minute quicker to take victory on this occasion.

Under-23 rider George Kimber (Spirit Tifosi RT) finished third in the Somerset RC HC and went one better this time clinching second in 14-13.

Fellow under-23 Carl Jolly (University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC) completed the podium places in 14-47.

Quickest veteran was Phil Stonelake (Bristol Road Club) whose time of 15-09 was good enough for fifth.

Jack Dallyn (Exeter Whs CC) was fastest junior with his time of 15-41 which was good enough for eighth overall.

Tom Williams (Webbs 1902 CC) was second junior in 16-47 while Joseph Wright (Team Zoyland) was quickest juvenile in 16-17.

On her first outing of the season and first on the Porlock Hill Climb Coates took the women’s victory in 17-17.

Natalie Grinczer (CAMS -Tifosi) was second woman in 17-39 while juvenile Amy Pullen (Propello) was third woman in 18-10.

Michaela Spitzer of host club Minehead Cycling Club was quickest veteran woman in 21-20.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Ed Laverack (VAMos.CC) 13.24
2 George Kimber (Spirit Tifosi RT) 14.13
3 Carl Jolly (University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC) 14.47
4 Tom Townsend (Vredestein Basso) 14.59
5 Phil Stonelake (Bristol Road Club) 15.09
6 Steven Jones (Team Tor 2000 | KALAS) 15.12
7 Jacques Coates (Team PB Performance) 15.30
8 Jack Dallyn (Exeter Whs CC) 15.41
9 Charlie Revell (Team Tor 2000 | KALAS) 15.44
10 Tristan  Davies (Saint Piran) 15.55

Veteran: Phil Stonelake (Bristol Road Club)
Junior: Jack Dallyn (Exeter Whs CC)
Juvenile: Joseph Wright (Team Zoyland) 16.17

1 Nicole Coates (Torelli) 17.17
2 Natalie Grinczer (CAMS -Tifosi) 17.39
3 Amy Pullen (Propello) 18.10