Salt and Sham (SAS) Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 22-Feb-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: u102
  • Closing Date: 11-Feb-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Phelps and Dickerson power through wind to win in Gloucestershire

  • Published: 23 Feb 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Ross Phelps

Megan Dickerson and Ross Phelps battled through tough conditions to take their first wins of 2020 in the Salt and Sham CC 10-mile time trial near Rangeworthy on Saturday.

Storms had threatened the running of the event but the rain thankfully held off with just the wind to contend with as Ross Phelps (Bristol Road Club) clocking a quick time considering the conditions.

Phelps had won only once on record in 2019 but his time of 20-55 was over a minute better than his nearest competitor, equalling his 2019-win tally in his first outing of the season.

Josh Griffiths (Bikestrong-KTM) had previous on this course, winning two years ago followed by a third-place last season. But he could only manage second place with a time of 22-19.

Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA rider Tom Scorer was only 12 seconds adrift of Griffiths to record his first solo podium finish on record, clocking 22-31.

Megan Dickerson (Skoda DSI Cycling Academy) topped the women’s timesheets for the first time in 2020, kicking off the season in fine form and no doubt looking to continue her rise up the ranks this year.

Megan Dickerson

Dickerson – who claimed several victories last season – was over two minutes quicker than second place, posting a time of 23-06 which gave her fourth spot overall.

Toni Wilkes (Project 51) was second in 25-42 while Elizabeth Pressage (Velo Club Venta) completed the podium with a time of 26-31.

In other categories quickest junior was Lawrence Martindale (Chippenham & District Wheelers) with a time of 26-18 in what is believed to be his first ever open time trial.

Jeff Lawrence (Salt and Sham CC) and Jo Buckland (FTP Racing) took the men and women’s veteran on standard prize respectively with Lawrence going +3-10 quicker than standard and Buckland +3-32.

The fastest team prize was won by Bristol South CC, whose trio of Rob Borek, William Hamilton and Andy Legg combined for a winning time of 1-10-34.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



1. Ross Phelps (Bristol RC)    20.55

2. Josh Griffiths (Bikestrong-KTM)   22.19

3. Tom Scorer (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA)   22.31

4. Megan Dickerson (Skoda DSI Cycling Academy) 23.06

5. Jeff Lawrence (Salt and Sham CC) 23.07

6. Rob Borek (Bristol South CC)       23.23

7. Ted Cross (Univ of Bristol CC)     23.24

8. William Hamilton (Bristol South CC)        23.44

9. Andrew Metherell (Salt and Sham CC)     23.56

10. Adam Whittaker (Salt and Sham CC)      24.03



1. Megan Dickerson (Skoda DSI Cycling Academy) 23.06

2. Toni Wilkes (Project 51)    25.42

3. Elizabeth Pressage (Velo Club Venta)       26.31