Tyneside Vagabonds CC (inc N&DCA 100 Mile Champs & VTTA National Champs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Aug-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: M100/10
  • Closing Date: 18-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Mitchell and Rea power to victories in Tyneside Vagabonds 100

  • Published: 30 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Robbie Mitchell

Robbie Mitchell (Auchencrow Thistle CC) took a clear victory by over two-and-a-half minutes in the Tyneside Vagabonds 100, while Joanne Rea (Blaydon CC) was also dominant in the women’s category.

Riding his first ever time trial over 100 miles Mitchell paced himself perfectly to take his maiden open victory in a time of three hours, 51 minutes and 18 seconds.

The M100/10 course saw riders complete four laps of a 25-mile course around Northumberland.

Starting in Pegswood riders started heading east on the fast A197 before then joining the A1068 north.

Competitors then forked off left at Red Row before continuing north onto B-roads before turning left at Broomhill onto the undulating B6345 heading back south to complete the loop.

Mitchell’s previous best result was third in the SVTTA 30 in September last year.

Joanne Rea

However, on this occasion he was a clear victor ahead of Darren Yarwood (Almerico Vive Le Velo) in second (3-53-56) while Andrew Duggan (Physiohaus) took third in 3-57-01.

Some competitors stopped to help with a road traffic crash, not related to the event, between a car and a group of cyclists.

The incident led to a road closure and those riders who wanted to complete the event were directed to walk through an adjacent field around the closure on their third lap of the event.

“I was surprised to win as it was my first ever 100-mile event,” said Mitchell following the win.

“On the first lap I had an idea of what I needed to do power wise. I was pleasantly surprised of my average speed and so just stuck with that as I knew it would be harder as the event went on.

“It was quite straight forward. I was delighted to take my first ever open win.”

After narrowly missing victory by a single second last weekend Rea took top spot in the women’s event on this occasion.

She clocked an average speed of 22.21 miles per hour on way to clocking a winning time of 4-30-06.

Jen McMahon (Sub Rosa) finished second in 4-37-58 while Joanna Cebrat (Bury Clarion CC) completed the podium places in 4-57-42.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Robbie Mitchell (Auchencrow Thistle CC) 3:51.18
2 Darren Yarwood (Almerico Vive Le Velo) 3:53.56
3 Andrew Duggan (Physiohaus) 3:57.01
4 Shaun Brannan (Muckle Cycle Club) 4:00.29
5 Nick Badcock (Team Kirkley Cycles) 4:02.23
6 Philip Kennell (GS Metro) 4:08.33
7 James Hadfield (Blaydon CC) 4:09.39
8 Neil Fearn (Harrogate Nova CC) 4:11.58
9 Stephen Magrath (Blaydon CC) 4:12.12
10 Sean Quinn (Law Wheelers) 4:13.58

1 Joanne Rea (Blaydon CC) 4:30.06
2 Jen McMahon (Sub Rosa) 4:37.58
3 Joanna Cebrat (Bury Clarion CC) 4:57.42