Tickhill Velo Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Aug-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: o10/1
  • Closing Date: 28-Jul-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Swift and Sharp charge to victories in Tickhill Velo Club 10

  • Published: 09 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Fiona Sharp

PROFESSIONAL rider Connor Swift (Team Arkea- Samsic) showed his class to take a fine victory in the Tickhill Velo Club 10 while Fiona Sharp (Team Swift) dominated the women’s event.

Swift, who had ridden the La Route d’Occitanie stage race in the early part of the week, returned home and showed his post-lockdown form to clock a winning time of 19 minutes and nine seconds.

The 24-year-old who regularly rides in the World Tour was taking on his first open time trial since winning the Spalding 25 in 2018.

The fast and flat O10/1 sees riders start outside Hatfield Woodhouse before heading south on the A614 to Blaxton before turning for home.

Scratch rider Adam Duggleby (Almerico Vive Le Velo) had to settle for second on this occasion finishing 24 seconds down on Swift in 19-33 while Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) completed the podium (19.46).

Under-23 rider Ben Turner (Dinnington Racing Club) took fourth while quickest juvenile Jacob Bush (Bourne Wheelers) took eighth overall in a staggering 20-27.

Team Bottrill won the team award with Simon Beldon and Daniel Barnett finishing inside the top 10 and juvenile Alex Beldon in joint 11th.

In the women’s event Sharp, who also won the Team Sportslab sporting 10 earlier in the season, was back in first position with a time of 23-19.

Gail Phillips (Sheffield Phoenix CC) finished second in 25-57 while Beth Grogan (Selby CC) rounded off the podium places in third (26.35).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Connor Swift (Team Arkea- Samsic) 19.09
2 Adam Duggleby (Almerico Vive Le Velo) 19.33
3 Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) 19.46
4 Ben Turner (Dinnington Racing Club) 20.01
5 Richard Oakes (Team Ohten Aveas) 20.02
6 Simon Beldon (Team Bottrill) 20.20
7 Philip Graves (VC York) 20.23
8 Jacob Bush (Bourne Wheelers) 20.27
9 Daniel Barnett (Team Bottrill) 20.54
10 Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) 20.57

1 Fiona Sharp (Team Swift) 23.19
2 Gail Phillips (Sheffield Phoenix CC) 25.57
3 Beth Grogan (Selby CC) 26.35

Under-23: Ben Turner (Dinnington Racing Club) 20.01
Juvenile: Jacob Bush (Bourne Wheelers) 20.27
Team: Team Bottrill (Simon Beldon, Daniel Barnett & Alex Beldon)