Banbury Star Hardriders

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Mar-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 23.5 Miles
  • Course: k4/23
  • Closing Date: 18-Feb-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fellows and Watts fight to victories in Banbury Star Hardriders 23.5

  • Published: 02 Mar 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Lydia Watts

David Fellows (Solihull CC) and Lydia Watts (Liv AWOL) fought against a relentless crosswind and a tough climb on their way to victories in the Banbury Star CC hardriders 23.5-mile event.

Coming off the back of the hill climb season, Fellows powered his way up the 16 per cent gradient Sun Rising Hill to win by 58 seconds.

The K4/23 course sees riders travel on an out and back route along the A422 between Banbury and Stratford-upon-Avon.

The event is characterised by the descent on the way out and ascent on the return of Sun Rising Hill.

Riders didn’t just have the final hill effort to combat but a relentless crosswind which impacted them throughout the event.

Fellows, who finished 32nd in the National Hill Climb Championship, clocked a winning time of 52 minutes dead.

David Mead (Race Rapid) won a close battle for second with his 52.58 just 12 seconds quicker than Jack O’Neil (Team Jewson- MI Racing).

David Fellows

Harry Kirkby (Vision Innovation Leisure RT) was the quickest junior in 56.15, while Blaine Carpenter (JRC Shutt Ridley RT) won the under-23 prize in 54.36

Meanwhile, the team prize was won by JRC Shutt Ridley RT.

Under-23 rider Watts took a convincing win in the women’s event with her time of one hour, one minute and 52 seconds over two minutes quicker than Naomi De Pennington (Banbury Stars Cyclists’ Club) 1:04.11.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A full gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here


1 David Fellows (Solihull CC) 52.00
2 David Mead (Race Rapid) 52.58
3 Jack O’Neil (Team Jewson- MI Racing) 53.10
4 Tobias Wiesand (Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club) 54.09
5 Blaine Carpenter (JRC Shutt Ridley RT) 54.36
6 Roger Cutler (Beacon Roads CC) 55.06
7 James Middleton (MediaVelo) 55.34
8 James Garrett (Rugby Velo) 55.49
9 Paul Atkins (Kenilworth Whls) 55.56
10 Simon Smith (JRC Shutt Ridley RT) 56.01

1 Lydia Watts (Liv AWOL) 1:01.52
2 Naomi De Pennington (Banbury Stars Cyclists’ Club) 1:04.11

Junior: Harry Kirkby (Vision Innovation Leisure RT) 56.15
Espoir: Blaine Carpenter (JRC Shutt Ridley RT) 54.36

Team: (JRC Shutt Ridley RT)