Maidenhead & District Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Mar-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: h15/10
  • Closing Date: 05-Mar-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Cottington and Holmes victorious in windy Maidenhead & Dist CC 15

  • Published: 17 Mar 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Eliza Cottington (Bath CC) and Chris Holmes (Twickenham CC) were fastest female and male riders respectively as Maidenhead and District CC staged a 15-mile time trial in Berkshire on Saturday.

With several other events were cancelled because of high winds this one went ahead, although many riders pulled out because of the conditions which greeted them at the headquarters near Fifield.

Wind speeds of around 25mph were recorded with gusts up to 45mph, but thankfully all riders completed the course safely - although almost half the field opted to ride on road bikes instead of time trial machines.

43-year-old Holmes – the winner of the previous weekend’s Dorking CC East Surrey Hardriders event, clocked 33-29 to take the win by just three seconds from John Hale (WORX Factory Racing), while third spot went to Ben Stowe (Hemel Hempstead CC), who was more than two minutes further back.

23-year-old Bath CC rider Cottington was fastest female by more than three minutes, her time of 46-45 leaving Suzanne Sisson (Pearson CC) to settle for second by 3-06, while Gillian Morgan (Westerley CC) was third.

Didcot Phoenix CC pair Richard Gildea and Henry Latimer won the two-up event and recorded the actual fastest time of the day with 32-51, giving them the two-up win by 29 seconds from Jonathan Shubert and Danny Axford (Arctic Tacx).

And the best of the tandems was Hounslow and District Wheelers duo of Stuart Hawkins and Mark Silver with 38-30.

The event used the H15/10 course south of Maidenhead and the M4, near the village of Fifield. From a start point south of Fifield, riders east and then south through Winkfield, before turning back up Drift Road for another loop but then turning off at Winkfield Street and finishing short of the Drift Road junction.

Holmes’ victory was his third open win of the season so far, following on from first spot in the Farnborough and Camberley CC 10 and the Dorking CC East Surrey hardriders 29.9.

The in-form rider is next due to be in action in the North Hampshire RC 18.5 on March 30.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name  Time

1     Chris Holmes (Twickenham CC)  33:29

2     John Hale (WORX Factory Racing)     33:32

3     Ben Stowe (Hemel Hempstead CC)      35:52

4     Gavin Francis (London Dynamo) 36:19

5     Adam Stone (North Road CC)    37:07

6     John Franklin (Twickenham CC) 37:53

7     Tristan Davenne (Newbury RC)  38:20

8     Tobias Nilsson (Pearson CC)   39:04

9     Conor Boyle (Woking CC) 39:24

10    James Foster (High Wycombe CC)      39:45



1     Richard Gildea and Henry Latimer (Didcot Phoenix)     32:51

2     Jonathan Shubert & Danny Axford (Arctic Tacx)   33:20

3     Anthony Atkin & Harri James (Didcot Phoenix CC) 39:22



1     Stuart Hawkins & Mark Silver (Hounslow & D Wh)  38:30



1     Eliza Cottington (Bath CC)    46:45

2     Suzanne Sisson (Pearson CC)   49:51

3     Gillian Morgan (Westerley CC) 51:36