Valley Striders CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Jul-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: v235
  • Closing Date: 25-Jun-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Burke and Lewthwaite power to wins in Valley Striders CC 25

  • Published: 07 Jul 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Sarah Lewthwaite

Steven Burke (Team Wallis Race Team) took a 20-second victory in the undulating Valley Striders CC 25 while Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) won the women’s event.

Burke, who also won the Southport CC 10 last month, clocked a winning time of 52 minutes and 52 seconds to clinch the top spot again.

The V235 sees riders travel out and back on the A1 heading between Wetherby and Boroughbridge.

Veteran Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) put up a tough fight on the lumpy terrain but had to settle for second in 53.12 while Philip Graves (VC York) took third in 54.26.

45-year-old Leeds-based Lewthwaite, who also won the Yorkshire Cycling Federation hill climb recently, took a convincing victory with a winning time of one hour, two minutes and 29 seconds.

A good battle for second saw host club rider Liz Ball (Valley Striders CC) finish in 1:09.15 ahead of Claire Jessop (Otley CC) 1:10.08.   

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


Pos      Rider   Club    Time

1st       Steven Burke  Team Wallis Race Team          52:52

2nd      Richard Dean  Rockingham CC         53:12

3rd       Philip Graves   VC York         54:26

4th       Steve Gibson   Peak Road Club          55:32

5th       Anthony Ashworth     Wetherby Whs            55:52

6th       Richard Lilleker          Cleveland Wheelers CC          57:37

7th       Matthew Asquith        Team Sportslab           57:48

8th       Oliver Potter   Rockingham CC         58:13

9th       Robert Cooke  Rockingham CC         58:39

10th     Jost Mullenheim          Cleveland Wheelers CC          58:42

11th     Melvin Blackford        Vive Le Velo  58:52

12th     Mark Johnson  Yorkshire Road Club  59:01

13th     Paul Mapletoft            Kiveton Park Cycling Club     59:14

14th     Daniel Shaw    Halifax Imperial Wheelers      1:00:15

15th     Simon Hulme  Royal Air Force Cycling Association 1:00:21

16th     Ross Burton    Calder Clarion 1:00:33

17th     Mark Morris    Harrogate Nova CC    1:00:38

18th     Gareth Tupling            Whitby Whs    1:00:47

19th     Jason Procter   Valley Striders Cycling Club  1:01:07

20th     James Bray      Hull Thursday RC       1:01:27

21st     Patrick  Beilby            Velo Club Long Eaton            1:02:14

22nd    David Taylor   Ravensthorpe CC        1:02:16

23rd     Sarah Lewthwaite       Team Sportslab           1:02:29

24th     Alexander Broadhead Rockingham CC         1:02:34

25th     Frank Healy    Ravensthorpe CC        1:02:48

26th     Steven Scott    Albarosa CC   1:02:57

27th     Chris Johnson  Valley Striders Cycling Club  1:02:59

28th=   Jymmy Trevor Hull Thursday RC       1:03:12

28th=   Alex Ingham   AIMS Cycling            1:03:12

30th=   Andrew  Marr Whitby Whs    1:03:39

30th=   Colin Birchall  HD Revolutions          1:03:39

32nd    Martin Broadhead       Rockingham CC         1:03:42

33rd     Paul Warrener Rossendale RC           1:04:33

34th     Mark Stokes    Hambleton RC            1:04:37

35th     Douglas  Jaram            Hull Thursday RC       1:05:33

36th     Tony Boynton City RC (Hull)            1:06:05

37th     Anthony Mcnamara    Rockingham CC         1:06:31

38th     Ian Ambler      Rockingham CC         1:07:01

39th     Lee Hemmings            Rochdale Tri Club       1:07:57

40th     Neil Trench     Rockingham CC         1:08:25



1 Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) 1:02.29

2 Liz Ball (Valley Striders CC) 1:09.15

3 Claire Jessop (Otley CC) 1:10.08