West Suffolk Wh & Tri Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Mar-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 21 Miles
  • Course: bs31
  • Closing Date: 05-Mar-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wins for Bradbury and Mulvey in Suffolk

  • Published: 17 Mar 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

John Mulvey was fastest overall while Rosamund Bradbury was the quickest woman as West Suffolk Wheelers and Tri Club staged a 21-mile time trial in Suffolk on Saturday afternoon.

26-year-old Mulvey’s time of 46-10 gave the ActiveEdge RT rider victory by more than three and a half minutes, with Leon West (CC Sudbury) was second and Simon Daw (Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling) took third.

Meanwhile in the women’s category, Bradbury, 30 and riding for Sigma Sport), clocked 55-21 to win by more than four minutes from Jen Smart (Team Velovelocity), while Maura Brown (West Suffolk Wheelers) was third.

The event took place on the BS31 course near Risby, a village near Bury St Edmunds. A total entry of 54 riders included three medium gear riders, but conditions led to 16 non-starters and three non-finishers, including pre-race favourites Stuart Fairweather and Daniel Bloy.

Strong south westerly winds gave riders something to think about as they powered round the quiet lanes, although it was better than 2018 when the Beast from the East gave organisers a headache!

Aside from the main categories, the medium gear prize went to Boyd Nicholas (West Suffolk Wheelers) with 1-00-38, while the promoting West Suffolk Wheelers also scooped the team prize with Paul Rooke, Paul Vickers and James Wood combining for 2-37-30.

And in the category for veterans on standard, victory went to 54-year-old Simon Daw, the Datalynx rider’s time giving him a plus of 6-56, while 70-year-old Chris Nudds (CC Breckland) was second with +5.34.

The event starts near Risby before heading out to the A14 ad looping back anti-clockwise to Flempton, Lackford, over to Cavenham and back for another circuit before finishing back near Risby.

Mulvey’s victory comes after he pulled out of the Ely and District CC Hardriders 25 last month, perhaps giving him added drive to compete in the West Suffolk Wheelers event despite far from ideal conditions.

Bradbury’s win makes it two victories in two weekends, having also been the fastest female in the Dorking CC East Surrey Hardriders 29.9 event. She was also on the podium in the Kingston Wheelers CC sporting 13.6-mile event back in February, taking second spot behind Alice Lethbridge.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos         Name  Team  Time

1     John  Mulvey      Active Edge Race Team   46:10

2     Leon  West  CC Sudbury  49:52

3     Simon Daw   Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling   50:38

4     Richard     O’Rourke    Team Vision Racing      50:39

5     John Bradbury    CC Sudbury  51:35

6     Paul  Rooke West Suffolk Wheelers   51:58

7     Paul  Vickers     West Suffolk Wheelers   52:04

8     Peter Kerry Ipswich Velo      52:53

9     Ross  Edgar Lee Valley  53:12

10    Jordan      Black Newmarket CC      53:19

11    Julian      Bosley      Stowmarket & District   53:26

12    James Wood  West Suffolk Wheelers   53:28

13    Andy  Kennedy     Ipswich BC  53:33

14    Nicholas    Webber      Hadleigh CC 53:33

15    Antony      Birt  Plomesgate CC     54:04

16    Rosamund    Bradbury    Sigma Sports      55:21

17    Hans  Verschueren Cambridge Uni     55:33

18    Bryan Long  Velo Schills      56:03

19    Chris Nudds CC Breckland      56:20

20    Pip   Moore West Suffolk Wheelers   57:21

21    Mark  Smart VC Norwich  58:08

22    Jennifer    Smart Team Velovelocity 59:41

23    Laura Brown West Suffolk Wheelers   59:51

24    Mark  Fairhead    CC Breckland      1:02:01

25    Alan  Mcguire     Ipswich BC  1:02:16

26    Ben   Loxton      West Suffolk Wheelers   1:02:29

27    Henry       Wood  West Suffolk Wheelers   1:03:53

28    Steven      Rue   West Suffolk Wheelers   1:04:29

29    Nick  Parvanni    CC Breckland      1:05:00

30    David Young West Suffolk Wheelers   1:05:04

31    David Fenn  CC Sudbury  1:06:12

32    Peter Kennedy     West Suffolk Wheelers   1:09:51

      Barry Mcdonald    3T Racing   DNF

      Stuart      Fairweather Team Velovelocity DNF

      Jan   Ertner      Cambridge CC      DNF

      Chris Tye   Plomesgate CC     DNS

      Charlie     Knowler     West Suffolk Wheelers   DNS

      Patrick     Ellis Diss CC     DNS

      Matt  O'Brien     Plomesgate CC     DNS

      Andrew      Bright      Chronos RT  DNS

      Chris Womack      VC Baracchi DNS

      Adam  Baker West Suffolk Wheelers   DNS

      Gary  Johnson     CC Sudbury  DNS

      Mark  Ready Diss CC     DNS

      Isabella    Johnson     Datalynx    DNS

      Jonathan    Howe  Team Velovelocity DNS

      Oliver      Ingwall King      West Suffolk Wheelers   DNS

      Daniel      Bloy  Team Velovelocity DNS

      Richard     Farrow      West Suffolk Wheelers   DNS

      Stuart      Emmett      Wisbech Wheelers  DNS

      Chris Cantwell    West Suffolk Wheelers   DNS


Medium Gear

1     Boyd  Nicholas    West Suffolk Wheelers   1:00:38

2     Richard     Hutt  Harp RC     1:00:58