VTTA (Kent group)(all ages)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Mar-19
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: Q10/24
  • Closing Date: 12-Mar-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell and Graveney winners again in Kent

  • Published: 24 Mar 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nic Fennell

Familiar Kent faces Hannah Graveney and Nic Fennell emerged as winners in the VTTA Kent 10-mile time trial near Grain on Saturday.

One half of the formidable Fennell brothers, Nic returned to time trialling action, powering to the top step of the podium in familiar fashion.

Having to beat a time of 21-48 to move atop the standings, Fennell slashed the time on the winner’s seat by 47 seconds to 21-01, a time the remaining five riders to follow couldn’t match up to.

Fennell would go on to finish second in Sunday’s Medway Velo Club hosted event.

The time Fennell had to beat belonged to Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC). Wilson may not have been able to enjoy a win on this occasion but second was a worthy consolation.

Wilson’s second place was his first podium in five events and best finish since May last season. Third place was filled by veteran Neil Harrigan (Gravesend CC) who clocked a time of 22-07.

Quickest woman and event winner went to Hannah Graveney (LIV AWOL).

Graveney tasted victory in her last outing on New Year’s Day this year, sharing the top spot with Charmaine Pullen. But this time, the top spot was just for her with a time of 25-05 to give her a 100% race record on in 2019.

Jo Smith (Thanet RC) was her next nearest competitor, 25 seconds down the course with a time of 25-30 while her team-mate Abigail Langley was another 30 seconds back in 26-00, completing the podium.

In other categories, Toby Yemm (Thanet RC) was quickest junior with a time of 26-42.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



No.  Name Club Cat  Time

1    Nicholas Fennell     Thanet RC  S    21:01

2    Nick Wilson     Rye & Dist Wheelers CC     V    21:48

3    Neil Harrigan   Gravesend CC    V    22:07

4    Tom Rowing Abellio SFA RT  S    22:25

5    Tjeerd Mijzen   Hastings & St Leonards     V    22:30

6    Adrian Hawkins  Thanet RC  V    22:36

7    Steve Gooch     Rye & Dist Whs CC    V    22:53

8    Antony Bee Wigmore CC V    23:12

9    Geoff Pullen    Rye & Dist Wheelers CC     V    23:13

10   Keith Brown     Southboro & Dist Whs V    23:14

11   Rob Milnes Thanet RC  S    23:23

12   Scott Meeks     Thanet RC  V    23:38

13   Sam Day    CS Grupetto     V    23:51

14   Colin Harrison  East Grinstead CC    V    23:52

15=  Alex Woolley    Sheppy Velo     V    23:58

15=  Stephen Tierney Team Bottrill   V    23:58

17   Tom Morton PMR  V    24:14

18   Hugh Williams   Pro Vision Cycle Clothing  V    24:16

19   Mark Wright     Rye & Dist Wheelers CC     V    24:39

20   Ron Casteljn    Hastings & St. Leonards CC V    24:43

21   David Greenwood Rye & Dist Wheelers CC     V    24:47

22   Hannah Graveney Liv AWOL   L    25:05

23   Grant Cousins   Thanet RC  S    25:15

24   Colin Ashcroft  West Kent RC    V    25:29

25   Jo Smith   Thanet RC  L    25:30

26=  Chris Bax  PMR  V    25:49

26=  Roger Hutchings Lewes Wanderers V    25:49

28   Abigail Langley Thanet RC  L    26:00

29   Paul Kirkness   Thanet RC  V    26:02

30   Mark Vowellsÿ (Trike) CC Bexley  V    26:04

31   Matthew Hall    Thanet RC  S    26:26

32   Mick James Kassei CC  V    26:30

33   Sara Anne Lucas Folkestone Velo Club L/V  26:36

34   Robert Giles    PMR  V    26:39

35   Toby Yemm  Thanet RC  J    26:42

36   Eva Nyirenda    a3crg L    27:24

37   Catherine Morrell    Thanet RC  L/J  27:27

38   Simon Charles   Thanet RC  V    27:55

39   Sophie Driscoll Thanet RC  L    28:10

40   Dave Mastin     Thanet RC  V    28:44

41   Vernon Thomas   VC Elanÿ   V    29:22

42   Josie Harcourt  Thanet RC  L    29:27

43   Colin Inett     Thanet CC  V    29:29

44   Andy Burrows    Thanet RC  V    29:34

45   Chris Parker    Hastings & Leonards CC     V    30:21

46   Michael Daniels Southboro & Dist Whs V    30:46

47   Diana Yemm Thanet RC  L/V  30:53

48   Tom Cosgrove    VTTA (London & H C)  V    DNS

     Helen McKay     Les Filles Racing Team     L/V  DNS

     Phil Booth Medway Velo Club     V    DNS

     Faye Faiers     Thanet RC  L/V  DNS

     Michael Johansen     London Dynamo   V    DNS

     Andrew McCall   Thanet RC  V    DNS

     Mike Piper PMR  V    DNS

     Gary Ricks Woolwich CC     V    DNS