South Pennine RC (Men)(Preference to BDCA Clubs) (Cheques payable to S.Bowler)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-May-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: a25/11
  • Closing Date: 30-Apr-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Course records fall as Grant and Wright win at South Pennine RC 25

  • Published: 12 May 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Sarah Grant

Leon Wright, Sarah Grant and George Elliott all broke course records on their way to wins at the South Pennine Road Club 25-mile time trial near the Derbyshire/Staffordshire border on Saturday.

37-year-old Leicester-based rider Wright (Race Hub) covered the A25/11 from Etwall in Derbyshire to Uttoxeter in Staffordshire and back in 48-16 to set a new mark in the men’s event.

Wright took the win by four seconds from Team Bottrill’s Brett Harwood, while Andy Jackson (AeroCoach) was third, another 19 seconds back.

Grant (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing), 35 and from Market Drayton, clocked 56-58 to set a new record for women on the course and win on the day by more than three minutes.

Second-placed Sam Toon (Coalville Tri Club) clocked 1-00-12, while Sue Cheetham (North Lancs RC) was almost two minutes further back in third.

Leon Wright

And there was a new junior course record set by Innovation Racing’s George Elliott who clocked 50-42.

It was a blustery day of sunshine and showers, which made the record-breaking performances all the more impressive.

From a start point near Hilton, the A25/11 course takes riders along the A50 westwards through Sudbury and over the northern edge of Doveridge and on to the north of Uttoxeter. They then turn and retrace, finishing on the A516 Etwall bypass.

Wright, who went on to ride the fourth round of the Sigma Sports Classic Time Trial Series on Sunday, is a man in form having placed third in the first couple of rounds of the national series this season.

This win was Grant’s first open victory of the season, but comes after a 2018 which saw her secure several strong performances and victories which include several rounds of the Cheshire Points Series.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Leon Wright (Race Hub)     48.16

2 Brett Harwood (Team Bottrill)        48.20

3 Andy Jackson (AeroCoach) 48.39

4 Haydn James (Velolife)       48.44

5 John Lucock (Born to Bike)            48.49

6 Daniel Barnett (Team Bottrill)         49.20

Team: Team Bottrill (Brett Harwood, Daniel Barnett, Neal Parkin 51.00) 2:28.40



1 Sarah Grant (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing)    56.58

2 Sam Toon (Coalville Tri Club)         1.00.12

3 Sue Cheetham (North Lancs RC)    1.02.03

4 Sarah Harrison (Sheffield Tri Club) 1.02.05

5 Alison Dockney (Market Drayton CC)       1.02.46

6 Louise Hamilton (Mountain Goat Coaching)          1.03.17

Junior: George Elliott (Innovation Racing)    50.42