RTTC National 25 mile Championship (South DC) (Men) (120 riders max)(entries close 10/07/18)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Aug-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: P884C
  • Closing Date: 10-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victory for Bialoblocki at National 25 Championships

  • Published: 05 Aug 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

National record holder Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) secured the 2018 National 25-Mile Championship, covering the course in Hampshire almost two minutes quicker than his nearest rivals.

The 34-year-old Polish rider who lives in Bridgwater clocked 44-22 to win by 1-51 on the P884c course near Liphook, giving the National 100 champion his first win in the national 25.

There was a tie for second spot between St Piran’s Matt Langworthy and AS Test Team’s Olympic rowing silver medallist Chris Bartley who both clocked 46-13.

“I feel great as it’s always nice to win, especially a big event like this,” said Bialoblocki.

“I didn’t really have a time in mind when I came here. I didn’t know what to expect on this course as it was the first time I rode it, but conditions weren’t so fast today anyway.

“My preparations haven’t been great - yesterday I had a hard day with a few problems with the bike, and I slept for only five hours last night.”

Almost all of the reserve riders did get to take part with 19 non-starters, the highest profile of which was reigning champion Dan Bigham and his Ribble Pro Cycling team-mates John Archibald and Simon Wilson.

The P884c course uses the A3, joining to the west of Liphook and proceeding down to beyond Petersfield then heading back up to Bramshott and then heading back down to near the startpoint.

Team Bottrill-Vanguard were team winners with fourth-placed Stuart Travis, Brett Harwood in eighth and George Evans (12th) combining to record 2-21-13, giving them victory by just 14 seconds from NOPINZ.

It was the third year in a row that Team Bottrill have won the team prize at the National 25-Mile Championships.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A full gallery of images from the Men's National 25-Mile Championship is available here