Great Yarmouth CC (women & juniors)(60 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Mar-18
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: b10/43
  • Closing Date: 20-Mar-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victory for Proctor and Hall in Great Yarmouth CC’s Good Friday 10

  • Published: 02 Apr 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Francesca Hall.

Sam Proctor and Francesca Hall were fastest male and female riders respectively as Great Yarmouth CC staged their Good Friday 10-mile time trial in Norfolk.

Hall’s time of 23-48 gave her the win by almost a minute from an impressive field of 37 riders for the women’s event, thanks largely to the efforts of organiser Lynn Evans as well as Jenny Anderson and Christine Cook from Great Yarmouth CC and Godric CC.

She was 56 seconds quicker than Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Sport), while Verity Smith (Stowmarket & Dist CC) was third fastest of the women with 25-06.

And in the men’s event Sam Proctor (Ride Harder) – a triathlete from Kent - took the win by just one second, clocking 21-08 to push out Lowestoft-based Mark Richards (DAP CC), while Matt O’Brien (Plomesgate CC) was only another six seconds adrift in third place.

The B10/43 course is based at Wortwell near Harleston in Norfolk, and takes riders from Redenhall to Bungay and back on a single carriageway road along the Waveney Valley.

Conditions were dry with only a light crosswind which offered little or no advantage to the riders.

Sam Proctor.

In other categories Lucas He (VC Baracchi) won the junior/juvenile prize with a time of 21-44. Jo Fisk (Beccles Tri Club) was the fastest lady on handicap with an adjusted time of 14-09, while Denise Hurran was top woman veteran on standard and the prize for first female novice went to Nicole Beck (Epic Orange) with 28-40.

The fastest man on handicap was Martin Wilson, the Great Yarmouth CC rider having a time of 16-00, with Proctor having to settle for second in this category by 22 seconds.

Plomesgate CC’s Steve Cave was the fastest male veteran on standard with a time of 21-45, while the promoting club’s own Peter Aldred (Great Yarmouth CC) was the top male novice with a time of 26-55.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. Sam Procter (Ride Harder) 21.08

2. Mark Richards (DAP CC)  21.09

3. Matt O’Brien (Plomesgate CC)      21.15

4. Steve Cave (Plomesgate CC)          21.45

5. Tony Heather (Team Skipper)         22.01

6. Dan Blackburn (VC Norwich)        22.22

7. Paul Jay (Team Velovelocity)         22.24

8. Simon Scott (Anglia Velo) 22.26

9. Sean Taylor (RAF CA)                   22.39

10. Matthew Radcliffe (Iceni Velo)   22.41



1. Francesca Hall (DAP CC)  23.48

2. Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Sport)     24.44

3. Verity Smith (Stowmarket & District CC) 25.06

4. Becky Scofield (Epic Orange)        25.20

5. Kate Lucas (Norwich ABC)           25.48

6. Sarah Senderski (Team Bottrill)      25.55

7. Jen Smart (VC Norwich)    26.13

8. Rachel Holman (Ride Harder)        26.15

9. Jan Smith (Great Yarmouth CC)    26.22

10. Jo Fisk (Beccles Tri)          27.56

Juniors & Juveniles: Lucas He (VC Baracchi)            21.44