Blaydon CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Jul-18
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0 Miles
  • Course: M14
  • Closing Date: 03-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Atkinson and Frost win at the Blaydon CC 14

  • Published: 15 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Colin Atkinson

Colin Atkinson (Muckle CC) and Gemma Frost (Team Swift) were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Blaydon CC 14-mile time trial near Edmundbyers in County Durham on Sunday.

And the same two riders were also victorious in the King of the Mountains and Queen of the Mountains category on this hilly M14 circuit.

Atkinson clocked 36-10 to win overall by 11 seconds from Mark Robertson (Army CU), while Nick Badcock (Allen Valley Velo) was third, 25 seconds behind Atkinson’s pace.

And in the women’s category, Frost clocked exactly 40 minutes, while second was Natalie Batey (Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service), while Joanne Rea (Blaydon CC) was third.

This was Atkinson’s first ever open time trial win after a couple of third-place finishes, so he was delighted with this victory.

“Tuesday night hills with the guys from Muckle CC has been going well so I was confident that I would climb well today,” he said.

Gemma Frost

“It was a bonus to get the KOM against the guys on road bikes and I was very surprised that it was by 30 seconds.  The TT bike is certainly quicker than my road bike on this course as there is plenty of flat and downhill to make time up. 

“I hit the run-in at speed and thought I could make the last bend without having to brake.  I was wrong, and the back wheel skidded out.  I manage to dodge the timekeepers but ended in the gravel so a lucky escape.  I went a minute quicker than last year, so very happy – would have liked to get under the 36 minutes!”

The climb is a 3.3-mile stretch with some segments close to 20 per cent, and this year was sponsored by Band of Climbers.

The M14 course is a grippy 14-mile sporting course with a third flat, a third climbing then a third superfast descending.  It’s a great test for the legs as “those who like to climb”.

The team prize went to Blaydon CC with Julian McBride, James O’Reilly and Dan Pons, while Ben Lane (GS Metro) took home the over-40 veterans prize and Brian Johnson (Reifen Racing) was first over-50 veteran.

And Marcus Cram of the host club Blaydon CC took home the prize money as fastest in the road bike category.



Pos      Name   Club    Gender            Category         Time

1          Colin   Atkinson         Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Veteran           36:10

2          Mark    Robertson        Army Cycling Union  Male    Senior  36:21

3          Nick    Badcock          Allen Valley Velo       Male    Senior  36:35

4          Julian   Macbride         Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  37:01

5          David  Nearney           South Shields Velo Cycling Club       Male    Senior  37:34

6          Marcus            Cram   Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  37:37

7          Jamie   Johnson           Barnesbury CC           Male    Senior  37:39

8          James   O'reilly            Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  38:36

9          Ben      Lane    GS Metro        Male    Veteran           38:40

9          Scott    Mccance          Derwentside CC         Male    Senior  38:40

11        Dan     Pons    Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  38:43

12        Eoin     Gormley          Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  39:47

13        Craig   Hodgson         Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  39:53

14        Peter    Stokoe Sunderland Clarion     Male    Senior  39:59

15        Gemma            Frost    Team Swift     Female Senior  40:00

16        Peter    Herdman         Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           40:20

16        Ian       Dick    Derwentside CC         Male    Senior  40:20

18        Ben      Walker Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  40:21

19        Simon  Gibbs   Reifen Racing Male    Veteran           40:39

20        Stephen           Walton            Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Veteran           40:42

21        Clive    Allan   Allen Valley Velo       Male    Senior  40:47

22        Mal      Gray    Reifen Racing Male    Veteran           41:11

23        Paul     Herron Derwentside CC         Male    Senior  41:36

24        Brendan          Mcmillan         Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service CC        Male    Senior  41:39

25        Damon            Devine Reifen Racing Male    Veteran           41:51

26        Mark    Whaley            Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           41:56

27        David  Symes  Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           42:06

28        Brian   Johnson           Reifen Racing Male    Veteran           42:13

29        Natalie Batey   Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service CC        Female Senior  42:14

30        Chris    Beaty   Allen Valley Velo       Male    Senior  42:28

31        Mark    Herbert            Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           42:39

32        Ian       Gallon North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Veteran           42:43

33        Joanne Rea      Blaydon CC    Female Senior  43:01

34        Gemma            Hutchins          Blaydon CC    Female Senior  43:08

35        Tom     Guy     Sunderland Clarion     Male    Veteran           43:44

36        Neil     Parkin  Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           43:53

37        John     Cantrill            Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           44:58

37        David  Swainson         Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           44:58

39        Sarah   Wilkinson        Cestria C.C.    Female Veteran           45:01

40        Wayne Baker   Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           45:44

41        Rachel Galler  Blaydon CC    Female Senior  46:02

42        Angela Mcgurk            Blaydon CC    Female Senior  46:17

43        Phil      Steadman        North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Veteran           46:35

44        Jen       Mcmahon        Muckle Cycle Club     Female Senior  46:36

45        Raymond        Bell      Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           48:43

46        Sandy  Cheung            Reifen Racing Female Senior  50:55

47        Claire   Harlow            North Tyneside Riders CC     Female Senior  51:08

48        Paul     Mitchell           Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           56:38

49        Mick    Chappel           North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Veteran           57:10

APOLS           Dennis Fuller   GS Metro        Male    Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Sheena Harrison          Allen Valley Velo       Female Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Chris    Annable           Allen Valley Velo       Male    Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Chris    Mather Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Neil     Wilkinson        Cestria C.C.    Male    Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Sebastian         Stockbridge     Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  APOLS

APOLS           Helen   Parkin  Muckle Cycle Club     Female Senior  APOLS

APOLS           Hedley            Fletcher           Blaydon CC    Male    Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Carrie  Brookes           North Tyneside Riders CC     Female Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Paul     Wright Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  APOLS

DNF    Thomas            Hutchinson      Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Senior  DNF

DNS    Christopher     Debens            VTTA (Midlands)       Male    Veteran           DNS

DNS    Chris    Burns   Reifen Racing Male    Senior  DNS