Houghton CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Apr-18
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: M1010B
  • Closing Date: 17-Apr-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Grieves leads a 1-2 for GS Metro with Frost fastest female at Houghton 10

  • Published: 29 Apr 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Gemma Frost.

Danny Grieves (GS Metro) beat team-mate Ross Walton to win the Houghton CC 10-mile time trial in blustery conditions, while Gemma Frost (Team Swift) was fastest female.

“It was cold and windy so it made the race harder,” said Grieves. “They had 50 quid for the course record but the conditions stopped that from happening.

“The race is two laps so the wind blows both ways depending where you are. You ride into a strong headwind and then there’s a full tailwind and I was getting to like 35mph and then coming into corners with too much speed so it was hard to slow down.”

Grieves continued his fine form from last season to capture his second win of the current year and of this month after a victory in the North Tyneside Riders CC 10.

A time of 21-18 was enough to leave the 29-year-old from Blyth standing atop the podium with Ross Walton only being beat by a narrow 17 second margin – the main goal for Grieves.

“My team-mate Ross Walton was in the race with me so he was the guy I most wanted to beat today.

Danny Grieves.

“I want to say I had a bad ride but it was a good ride considering the conditions and I’m pleased to win. Houghton always put on a good event so I’m pleased to win it.”

Ross Walton mirrored a performance from Saturday’s Ferryhill Wheelers 10 with another second place finish capping off a good day for the GS Metro team. Walton finished third here in last year’s running of the event but a time of 21-36 allowed him to take the next step up the podium.

The field was filled with riders from the Ferryhill Wheelers 10 on Saturday - Jonathan Robinson (Army Cycling Union) and Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill), two riders from that event replicated those performances, regaining their places in third and fourth respectively.

Gemma Frost (Team Swift) lead the way ahead of another feature from Ferryhill in the form of women’s winner Kerry Gowland (Houghton CC). Frost posted a time of 24-22, powering to the line 57 seconds ahead of Gowland in second.

Adam Jarps once again finished as top junior with 15-year-old Daniel Dixon (Gosforth RC) taking the prize for fastest juvenile with a time of 23-16.

Fastest juvenile Daniel Dixon.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1    Danny      Grieves    GS Metro   21.18

2    Ross Walton     GS Metro   21.35

3    Jonathan   Robinson   Army Cycling Union   21.59

4    Adam Jarps Team Bottrill / Vanguard   22.12

5    David Nearney    South Shields Velo CC 22.27

6    Darren     Williamson Muckle Cycle Club    22.29

6    Lewis      Timmins    Muckle Cycle Club    22.29

8    Phil Hall Breeze Bikes RT 22.35

9    Steven     Craggs     Blaydon CC 22.46

10   Justin     Ramel Blaydon CC 22.47

11   Thomas     Gilbert    Team Newcastle Triathlon   22.48

12   Julian     MacBride   Blaydon CC 23.08

13   Andrew     Hall GS Metro   23.11

13   Mark Robertson  Army Cycling Union   23.11

15   Daniel     Dixon Gosforth RC     23.16

15   James Hadfield   Blaydon CC 23.16

17   Chris Mather     Derwentside CC  23.18

18   Mike Dalton     Stockton Wheelers CC 23.54

19   Peter Herdman    Blaydon CC 23.57

20   Ian  Simon Breeze Bikes RT 24.00

21   Lester     Grant Auchencrow Thistle CC 24.14

22   Gemma Frost Team Swift 24.22

23   David Symes Blaydon CC 24.36

24   Lee  Statham    Houghton CC     24.53

25   Kevin Hall Sunderland Clarion   24.54

26   Jock Bolam Breeze Bikes RT 24.56

27   Neil Wilkinson  Cestria C.C.    24.59

28   Roger Clarke     Tyneside Vagabonds CC 25.08

29   James Meadows    Cleveland Wheelers CC 25.11

30   Tom  Guy  Sunderland Clarion   25.18

31   Kerry Gowland    Houghton CC     25.19

32   Alex Smethurst  Team Swift 25.28

33   Craig Deacon     South Shields Velo CC 25.34

34   Mark Whaley     Blaydon CC 25.38

35   Sebastian  Stockbridge     Blaydon CC 25.44

36   Craig Berry GS Metro   25.52

37   Craig Foley Tricademy  25.53

38   Paul Robson     Houghton CC     26.14

39   Paul Mitchell   Blaydon CC 26.27

40   Neil Parkin     Derwentside CC  26.28

41   David Swainson   Derwentside CC  26.46

42   Stuart     Cook Cestria C.C.    26.54

43   Iain Findlay    Team Pain Free Power 27.02

44   David Ballantyne EMC Cycling     27.11

45   Gemma Hutchins   Blaydon CC 27.14

46   Gary Evans Houghton CC     27.41

47   Chris Judson     NTR CC     27.53

48   Sara Cummings   Blaydon CC 28.20

49   Connor     Prior South Shields Velo CC 28.26

50   Richard    Cleathero  North Racing    28.46

51   Maddy Hall Breeze Bikes RT 30.01

52   Colin Oxberry    Houghton CC     30.12

53   Justine    Norman     Breeze Bikes RT 30.30

54   Gareth     Davies     Barnesbury CC   36.44

     Matthew    Durdy Rapha Cycling Club   DNF

     Paul Smith Reifen Racing   DNS

     Sam  Leng Malton Whs DNS

     Adam Baker Team Pain Free Power DNS

     Anthony    Anderson   Animis Racing TT     DNS

     Paul Burke Alnwick Cycling Club DNS

     Stephen    Walton     Muckle Cycle Club    DNS

     Paul Hollick    Houghton CC     DNS

     Nick Munro RAF Cycling Association    DNS

     Allen Armstrong  Sunderland Clarion   DNS

     Graeme     Carter     Stockton Wheelers CC DNS

     Nev  Martin     GS Metro   DNS a

     Helen Parkin     Muckle Cycle Club    DNS a

     Joanne     Rea  Blaydon CC DNS a

     John Hewison    Ferryhill Whs   DNS a

     Kris Atkin Team Bottrill / Vanguard   DNS a

     Jack Rees Ribble Pro Cycling   DNS a

     James G    Dunn South Shields Velo CC DNS a