gravesend cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Jul-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: q25/8
  • Closing Date: 26-Jun-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell and Wilkinson-Begg fastest in Kent

  • Published: 08 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nicholas Fennell

Nicholas Fennell and Tracy Wilkinson-Begg were fastest man and woman respectively as Gravesend CC staged a 25-mile time trial in Kent on Sunday morning.

Fennell, 25 and from Ramsgate, clocked 52-18 for the AS25/8 course near Challock, giving him the win by 48 seconds from Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Aerosmiths), while third went to Neil Harris (PMR @ Toachim House) who was around another minute back.

Folkestone Velo Club rider Tracy Wilkinson-Begg, 52, clocked 1-07-15 to win the women’s prize by just over a minute from Rebecca Wilson (Rye and District Wheelers).

Fennell’s win is the latest in a string of good results in the 2018 season so far.

He took victory in the De Laune CC 25 on the same course back in May when he was 11 seconds slower, and clocked 53-23 on the same Q25/8 course on his way to victory in the Kent CA 25 in April.

More recently he was second in the VTTA Kent 25 on the same course with a time of 51-59, while he was second in the Kent CA 100 last month.

For Wilkinson-Begg the win is her second open win so far this season, coming after victory in the VTTA Kent 25-mile event last month. She was also third in the competitive Sydenham Wheelers 25 in May.

The popular Q25/8 course takes riders from the start near Molash on the A252 and heads north east onto the A28 past Chartham and up to the fringes of Canterbury, before turning and heading back down the A28 all the way to near Ashford. After turning there, riders head back up and on to the A252 to the finish.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



No.   Name  Club  Time

1     Nicholas Fennell  Thanet RC   52:18

2     Andrew Meilak Aerosmiths    53:06

3     Neil Harris PMR @ Toachim House     54:03

4     Dean Chiddention  Abellio - SFA Racing Team     54:16

5     Nick Wilson Rye & District Wheelers CC    54:26

6     Paul Sewell Bigfoot CC  55:24

7     Tim Kingston      GS Invicta  55:32

8     Tom Hilder  Hastings & St. Leonards CC    55:45

9     Adrian Hawkins    Thanet RC   56:17

10    Nicholas Scott    Thanet RC   56:19

11    Martin Jones      Gemini BC   56:28

12    Alex Pearson      Woolwich CC 56:33

13    Mark Valios Bigfoot CC  56:33

14=   Steve Gooch Rye & District Wheelers CC    57:01

14=   Lee Buckman Ashford Whs 57:01

16    Chris Jones Elite Cycling     57:51

17    Antony Bee  Wigmore CC  57:53

18    Neil Harrigan     Gravesend CC      58:19

19    Stephen Wilkinson Folkestone Velo Club    58:20

20    Mike Kirkness     Thanet RC   58:37

21    Marco Forgione    34 Nomads CC      59:37

22    Matthew Lewis     Ashford Road CC   1:00:03

23    Alex Woolley      Sheppey Velo      1:00:09

24    Ben Hilliar Ashford Road CC   1:00:16

25    Ian Stephens      Southborough & Dist. Whs      1:00:54

26    Danny Frost Folkestone Velo Club    1:01:46

27    Christopher Bax   PMR @ Toachim House     1:02:06

28    Matthew Hall      Thanet RC   1:02:14

29    David Hampton     Ashford Whs 1:02:16

30    David Earl  trainSharp  1:03:27

31    Reuben Evans      Bigfoot CC  1:04:23

32    Costin Murray     Ashford Road CC   1:04:51

33    Paul Kirkness     Thanet RC   1:04:58

34    Colin Ashcroft    West Kent RC      1:04:59

35    Robert Giles      PMR @ Toachim House     1:05:14

36    Doug Bentall      Southborough & Dist. Whs      1:05:28

37    Paul Kelk   Thanet RC   1:06:40

38    Tracy Wilkinson-Begg    Folkestone Velo Club    1:07:15

39    Roger Wilson      Spin Wheels Team  1:08:05

40    Rebecca Wilson    Rye & District Wheelers CC    1:08:26

41    Mark Amon   Rye & District Wheelers CC    1:09:06

42    Paul Simon Griffiths    Thanet RC   1:10:30

43    Richard Caxton    VC Elan     1:11:05

44    Andy Burrows      Thanet RC   1:14:45

      Ian Franklin      A5 Rangers CC     DNF

      John Osborn Folkestone Velo Club    DNF

      Sarah-Anne Lucas  Folkestone Velo Club    DNS

      Stephen Tierney   Team Bottrill     DNS

      Tony Longhurst    Oxted Cycle Club  DNS

      Michael Morris    CC Bexley   DNS

      Stewart King      Ashford Whs DNS

      Samuel Dixon      Hastings & St. Leonards CC    DNS

      Duncan Cochrane   7 Oaks Tri  DNS

      Richard Payn      34 Nomads CC      DNS

      Don Curtin  Folkestone Velo Club    DNS

      David Farrell     Woolwich CC DNS

      Paul Smith Aerosmiths    DNS

      David Dixon Hastings & St. Leonards CC    DNS

      Jeremy Saynor     PMR @ Toachim House     DNS

      Stuart Ashley     Innovation Racing DNS

      Scott Meeks Thanet RC   DNS

      Tony Carty  Tri Spirit Team   DNS

      David Mackey      Medway Velo Club  DNS