Pontypool RCC (Men)(Welsh Championship) (4 events 240 riders max)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Aug-18
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: R10/17
  • Closing Date: 31-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Janes and Morris crowned Welsh 10 Champions

  • Published: 12 Aug 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
David Janes

David Janes (Wheels of Dorset/Aero Testing/Bike Fitting) continued his emphatic season by winning the Pontypool RCC 10 including the Welsh Championship while Anna Morris (Southampton University RC) won the women’s event by a minute.

Heavy rain made for less than perfect conditions on the historically fast R10/17 course and a smaller field than expected competed for the titles.

However, the conditions didn’t affect Janes, 36, from Trowbridge, Wiltshire, who stomped around the course in a winning time of 19.05.

The R10/17 course sees riders travel out and back along the flat A40 turning at Raglan before making the return journey.

Janes suffered a rare defeat on his last trip to South Wales in the Bynea CC 25 but made no mistake on this occasion beating George Evans (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) by 10 seconds.

An even closer battle for third saw Dean Ware (Team Backstedt/Bike Performance) and Ben Skinner (Rule 5) inseparable after both finishing in 19.59.

Anna Morris

Morris followed her victory in the Ross-on-Wye 10 last month with another win clocking a slower time of 21.40 on this occasion.

The Southampton student was beaten into second on the R10/17 course in the Sportzmad 10 earlier in the season but was a clear victor on this occasion.

A close battle for second saw Stephanie Post (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) finish in 22.40 just 18 seconds ahead of Elizabeth Bennett (Team Jadan-Weldtite p/b Vive Le Velo).

Rising star Joshua Sandman (Team Backstedt Bike Performance) clinched the junior men’s title in 20.14 while Charlotte Mitchell (Newport Phoenix CC) was fastest junior woman in 25.58

Morgan Lloyd (Towy Riders) was fastest juvenile boy in 23.27 and Aimee Lane (Wyre Forest Cycle Racing Club) was the quickest girl in 25.28.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1          David  Janes    Wheels of Dorset | Aero Testing | Bike Fitting           00:19:05

2          George            Evans  Team Bottrill / Vanguard        00:19:15

3          Dean    Ware    Team Backstedt Bike Performance    00:19:59

3          Ben      Skinner            Rule 5  00:19:59

5          Andy   Davies Cardiff Jif       00:20:15

6          Luke    Cornish            Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club            00:20:19

7          Billy    Leason Shutt Ridley RT          00:20:28

8          Will     Bevan  Ross on Wye & Dist CC         00:20:29

9          James   Cook   Radeon-Cycology RT 00:20:31

10        Matt J  Smith   Port Talbot Whs CC   00:20:36



1          Anna   Morris  Southampton University Road Cycling          00:21:40

2          Stephanie        Post     Team Bottrill / Vanguard        00:22:40

3          Elizabeth         Bennett           Team Jadan-Weldtite p/b Vive Le Velo         00:22:58

4          Deborah          Sheridan          Warwickshire Road Club        00:24:45

5          Gaynor            Hughes            Bynea Cycling Club    00:25:41

6          Claire   Bird     Pontypool Road Cycling Club            00:26:22

Juvenille male: Morgan Lloyd Towy Riders   00:23:27

Juvenile female: Aimee           Lane    Wyre Forest Cycle Racing Club         00:25:28                                 

Junior male: Joshua     Sandman         Team Backstedt Bike Performance 00:20:14

Junior female: Charlotte  Mitchell Newport Phoenix CC       00:25:58