ely & district cc (hardriders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-Feb-18
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: bs19
  • Closing Date: 30-Jan-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Mulvey and Charles fastest in Ely hardriders 25

  • Published: 11 Feb 18
F | T | G+

John Mulvey and Lucy Charles were fastest male and female respectively at the Ely and District C hardriders 25-mile time trial in Cambridgeshire on Sunday.

24-year-old Mulvey led Cambridge University CC to a one-two with last year’s fastest rider Felix Barker placing second in the 2018 event.

Mulvey clocked 57.13 for the challenging BS19 course which takes riders on an anti-clockwise loop around Ely. This year’s event was run off in sunny but cold conditions but suffered from strong winds which ruled out any records being set.

His time was an improvement of exactly three minutes on his performance in the 2017 event when Mulvey was sixth, and he went on to win the British University 25-mile Championships back in April 2017.

Lucy Charles (Hoddesdon Triathlon Club) was fastest female, the 24-year-old covering the distance in 1:05.43 to take the win in that category by more than two minutes from Jess Atkinson (Cambridge University CC).

As well as placing sixth overall, Mark Williams (RAF CA) was the fastest veteran on standard. His actual time of 59.42 gave the 43-year-old a plus of 6.57 which was 1-36 better than second-placed David Procter, the 55-year-old Team Velovelocity rider.

Mulvey is next in action in two weeks when he plans to ride the North Road Hardriders 25, while he has also entered the Lea Valley CC two-up 25 on March 11.

And Charles has also entered the North Road CC event on February 25, as well as the Hainault RC hilly 50km on March 4.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        Club  Cat   Time

1     John  Mulvey      Cambridge Univ CC Senior      57:13

2     Felix Barker      Cambridge Univ CC Senior      57:47

3     Sebastian   Dickson     Thanet RC   Senior      57:50

4     Graham      Knight      JCA Equipe Velo  Senior      58:04

5     Rob   Walker      Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      58:37

6     Mark  Williams    RAF CA      Veteran     59:42

7     Kieran      Brady Team KTM    Senior      1:00:10

8     Reece Barclay     Hoddesdon Tri Club     Senior      1:00:45

9     Toby  Cowell      Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      1:01:59

10    John  Gull  Espresso Library Senior      1:03:19

11    Tom   Simpson     Cambridge Univ CC Senior      1:03:24

12    Ben   Redman      Cambridge Tri Club     Veteran     1:03:25

13    David Procter     Team Velovelocity Veteran     1:03:44

14    George      Macfarlane  Cambridge Tri Club     Espoir      1:04:02

15    Richard     Lamb  Peterborough CC  Senior      1:04:09

16    Daniel      Ward  South Normanton C C    Senior      1:04:35

17    Paul  Beattie     Rockingham Forest Whs  Veteran     1:04:42

18    Jack  Brown Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      1:04:50

19    Henry Farrell     Full Gas Racing Team   Senior      1:04:57

20    Nick  Jackson     Cambridge CC     Veteran     1:05:14

21    Chris Hopkinson   Richmond CC Veteran     1:05:25

22    Lucy  Charles     Hoddesdon Tri Club     Senior      1:05:43

23    Anthony     Collier     Hoddesdon Tri Club     Senior      1:06:22

24    David Halliday    Newmarket C&TC   Senior      1:06:46

25    Philip      Watkins     North Norfolk Whs Veteran     1:07:13

26    Geoff Frost Team Velovelocity Veteran     1:07:21

27    Jess  Atkinson    Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      1:07:56

28    James Rush  CC Sudbury  Veteran     1:08:02

29    John  Swindells   Iceni Velo-Duff Morgan Veteran     1:08:14

30    Chris Shaw  Fenland Clarion CC     Veteran     1:08:40

31    Paul Hayward     VC Baracchi Senior      1:08:54

32    Milo  Chapman     Team Corley Cycles     Junior      1:09:05

33    Ivan  Carr  Kings Lynn CC    Veteran     1:09:17

34    Seb   Baucutt     Cambridge Univ CC Senior      1:09:54

35    James Dynes Cambridge CC     Senior      1:09:58

36    Dan   Bromilow    Ely & District CC Veteran     1:10:34

37    Euan  Tebbutt     Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      1:10:54

38    Helen Gravatt     London Women's Racing CC     Veteran     1:11:35

39    Mandy Bunn  CC Sudbury  Veteran     1:12:05

40    Stewart     Kirk  CC Sudbury  Veteran     1:14:13

41    William     Weatherill  Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      1:14:21

42    John  Manlow      Ely & District CC Veteran     1:14:30

43    Harry Moore Cycling Club Hackney   Veteran     1:15:25

44    Peter Tibbitts    Ford CC     Veteran     1:15:58

45    Stuart      Emmett      Wisbech Whs Veteran     1:16:41

46    William     Drake Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      1:17:27

47    Gary  Boyd  Hub Velo    Veteran     1:17:34

48    Patrick     Ellerbeck   St Neots CC Veteran     1:17:34

49    Andrew      Newey Ribble Valley C&RC     Senior      1:18:37

50    Paul  Riley Hitchin Nomads CC Veteran     1:19:32

51    Nick  Hickman     Hitchin Nomads CC Veteran     1:20:20

52    Paul  Breeze      Peterborough CC  Veteran     1:21:18

53    Zena  Palgrave    Ely & District CC Veteran     1:21:32

54    Nick  Parravani   CC Breckland     Veteran     1:22:32

55    Sharon      Clifford    SheHair Racing Team    Veteran     1:23:41

56    Sue   Rogers      Crest CC    Veteran     1:26:37

57    Paul Willis      Wisbech Whs Veteran     1:26:41

58    Alastair    Ray   Ely & District CC Veteran     1:29:32

      Gabriel     Fowden      Pedal Power Cycles Ipswich   Espoir      DNF

      Paul  Jay   Team Velovelocity Veteran     DNF

      Rory  McCarron    Regents Park Rouleurs  Senior      DNS app

      Gemma Irvine      Newmarket C&TC   Senior      DNS app

      Stephanie   Hoyle Diss & District CC     Veteran     DNS app

      Mark  Ready Diss & District CC     Veteran     DNS app

      Sean  Cole  Diss & District CC     Senior      DNS app

      Luke  Danckert    Bedfordshire Road RT   Senior      DNS app

      Peter Kerry Ipswich Velo     Veteran     DNS app

      Aine  Cahill      Cambridge Univ CC Senior      DNS app

      Jordan      Black Newmarket C&TC   Espoir      DNS app

      Martin      Holmes      Ely & District CC Veteran     DNS app

      Michael     Jones       Stowmarket & Dist CC   Veteran     DNS app

      Alison      Holmes      Ely & District CC Veteran     DNS app

      Alistair    Golby Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      DNS app

      Thomas      Payne Tri-Anglia Triathlon Club    Espoir      DNS app

      John Bradbury    CC Sudbury  Veteran     DNS app

      Jim   Hardwicke   Plomesgate CC    Veteran     DNS app

      Rhys  Evans Army Cycling Union     Senior      DNS app

      Chris Tye   Plomesgate CC    Veteran     DNS app

      Mantas      Jancauskas  CC London   Senior      DNS app

      Linda Hones Newmarket C&TC   Veteran     DNS app

      Thomas      Huertas     Up and Active    Senior      DNS app

      Melody      Swiers      Cambridge Univ CC Espoir      DNS app

      Pippa O'Brien     RT PODA     Veteran     DNS app

      Simon McCartney   CC London   Veteran     DNS app

      Ken   Parsons     Newmarket C&TC   Veteran     DNS app

      Karl  Moseley     Fishface Cycles RT     Veteran     DNS app