sheffrec cc (men)(no lower age limit - closed road)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Oct-17
  • Time: 11:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: ohc/3
  • Closing Date: 19-Sep-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Kenway and Goodson climb to victory at Monsal Head

  • Published: 01 Oct 17
F | T | G+
Adam Kenway.

Adam Kenway (Raleigh GAC) and Rebecca Goodson (Velo Schils Interbike RT) took victories in the famous Monsal Hill Climb staged in Derbyshire by Sheffrec CC.

Kenway, who also won the title last year, clocked a winning time of one minute and 19 seconds on this occasion up the 617-metre climb.

The 30-year-old from Belper was almost three seconds slower than his winning time last year due to slippery conditions at the bottom of the climb.

“It’s fantastic to win it again as it’s probably the biggest event of the year for me,” said Kenway. “Despite the weather conditions the closed road was two or three people deep the whole way to the top.

“The competition was high as I know Joey Walker wanted to win as his father has won it in the past.”

First run in 1930, the Monsal Hill Climb is a target on many of the hill climb specialists’ calendar and had a record entry of 190 riders.

Rebecca Goodson.

The course record remains that set of 1:14.2 set by Malcolm Elliot in 1981.

On this occasion Kenway beat Joey Walker (Team Wiggins) into second with a 1:21.1, while Andy Nichols (B38-Underpin Racing) took third just a further two tenths back.

In the women’s event Goodson who also won the Stocksbridge CC and Bolsover & District CC events in recent weeks took an emphatic victory finishing in 1:47.8.

Second was Emilie Verroken (Maxx RT) almost eight seconds back while Elizabeth Banks (Storey Racing) took third 1:58.0.

In the junior men’s category Luke Hind (Team Jewson-MI Racing) took victory in 1:37.3, just three tenths faster than Alex Raynard (Matlock CC).

Meanwhile Lilly Greenhalgh (Team 22) took victory in the junior women’s event in 2:05.9.

Andy Hibberd (North Hampshire RC) was fastest veteran man clocking a winning time of 1:38.2, just two tenths quicker than Jon Wild (Veloviewer).

In the veteran women’s category Jo Holden (Macclesfield Wheelers) was the victor in 2:14.3 ahead of Anita Cavell (SheHair Racing Team).




1 Adam Kenway (Raleigh GAC) 1:19.4

2 Joey Walker (Team Wiggins) 1:21.1

3 Andy Nichols (B38-Underpin Racing) 1:21.3

4 Mike Morris (NFTO Race Club) 1:21.8

5 Kieran Wynn-Cattanch (Maxxis 4 RT) 1:23.4

6 Joseph Clark (Cycling Sheffield Giant) 1:24.1

7 James King (OVB) 1:29.2

8 Leon Wright (Race Hub) 1:29.4

9 Robert Scott (Team Wiggins) 1:29.9

10 Callum Stewart (East London Velo) 1:30.5



1 Rebecca Goodson (Velo Schils Interbike RT) 1:47.8

2 Emilie Verroken (Maxx RT) 1:54.5

3 Elizabeth Banks (Storey Racing) 1:58.0

4 Abbie Taylor (Fusion CC) 2:02.3

5 Rebecca Johnson (Aprire Bicycles) 2:07.8

6 Alexandra Farquhar (Army Cycling Union) 2:11.9

7 Alexandra Kendall-Smith (Unive of Manchester CC) 2:13.5

8 Holly Cater (Manchester Wh) 2:20.0

9 Jo Jebb (Common Lane Occasionals) 2:27.4

10 Laura Smith (University of Birmingham CC) 2:33.3