bdca (100 riders, 80 men, 20 women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Sep-17
  • Time: 12:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: a100/4
  • Closing Date: 22-Aug-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Turnbull and Melia claim 100-mile victories

  • Published: 03 Sep 17
F | T | G+
Mark Turnbull.

Mark Turnbull and Chris Melia were the respective male and female winners at the Burton and District DCA 100-mile time trial in Derbyshire on Saturday afternoon.

Starting at Etwall, the riders spent much of the race on the A50, completing two circuits of the course running into Staffordshire with a climb up towards Stoke on Trent.

In the overall competition, it was Mark Turnbull who claimed victory with the standout performance of the day.

The 44-year-old Torq Performance rider was by far and away the fastest rider, stopping the clock in 3 hours 21 minutes exactly.

That time gave the Macclesfield-based rider a significant gap of four minutes 35 to his nearest challenger Stephen Irwin.

Turnbull has tasted success a number of times this season, winning over 25 miles at both the East Lancs RC and Macclesfield Wheelers events, along with numerous other podium finishes.

Irwin (North Lancs RC) claimed second place, his time of 3:25.35 was nearly three minutes faster than that of Brian Fogarty (Fogarty Insurance Tri) who rounded off the top three.

In the women’s competition, an impressive ride from 53-year-old Chris Melia saw her take top spot.

Sheffield’s Melia (Born to Bike) completed her 100 miles on 3:55.41, 42 seconds quicker than Crystal Spearman (Nopinz).

Jessica Rhodes-Jones completed the top three, the 27-year-old Beacon Roads rider was three minutes behind Spearman.

In the BDCA association race, victory went to Ian Holbrook of Stone Wheelers, the 48-year-old claiming a comfortable win in a time of 3:34.47.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.  




1. Mark Turnbull (Torq Performance) 3:21.00

2. Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC)   3:25.35

3. Brian Fogarty (Fogarty Insurance Tri)        3:28.26

4. Victor Chetta (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)  3:33.14

5. Philip Graves (Nopinz)       3:34.31


1. Chris Melia (Born to Bike) 3:55,41

2. Crystal Spearman (Nopinz) 3:56.23

3. Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon Roads)       3:59.27