rttc national championship (mersey roads club)(entries close 27/06/17)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 22-Jul-17
  • Time: 13:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: d24hr
  • Closing Date: 27-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Broadwith and Muller claim National titles

  • Published: 23 Jul 17
F | T | G+
Michael Broadwith.

Michael Broadwith and Jasmijn Muller fought off the elements to become the respective men’s and women’s National 24-hour champions with excellent performances this weekend.

Broadwith (Arctic Tacx RT) came into the race as the favourite and the defending two-time champion did not disappoint, claiming his third national crown in the gruelling competition.

The 39-year-old from Hertfordshire was near the top of the standings throughout the race, and while the nature of the event and the periods of heavy rain took its toll on some of the competitors, Broadwith thrived to claim his third title in a row.

Born to Bike, women's team winners.

“A lot of people weren’t prepared for the weather and suffered,” Broadwith said. “I had to change all my clothes twice, and the fact that I had proper clothing on helped me to get the miles in.”

“It was hard coming back to the finishing circuit as there was a headwind all the way, but I felt it was a better finishing circuit than the usual one, a lot safer,” he added.

Victor Chetta (Mid Shropshire Wheelers) claimed second place, he was 30 miles behind Broadwith’s 530 after the 24 hours, but the result saw the Shropshire rider improve upon his third-place finish in 2016.

Jasmijn Muller (Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles) put in a remarkable performance to claim the women’s title, a display that also saw her finish third in the overall standings.

Jasmijn Muller.

The 38-year-old from Middlesex was the 12-hour champion two years ago, and was in imperious form this weekend, clocking up over 450 miles in the difficult conditions and falling just short of Christine Roberts 24-year-old national competition record.

Muller favoured the rainy conditions and despite being delighted to win, she said that the heat towards the end of the race caused her to fall short of the record.

The 2015 National 12-hour champion has now turned her attention to the rest of the campaign.

“To round off this season I’m going to go to the end of the September, and I’ve also entered the National 12-hour,” she added.

In the women’s competition, Crystal Spearman (Nopinz) also had an excellent competition, finishing second and sixth overall, whilst defending and multi-time champion Lynne Biddulph (Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles) was back on the podium in third.

Men's team winners, Arctic Tacx.

Muller and Biddulph, along with Jacqueline Hobson, claimed the women’s team prize for Born to Bike, whilst Broadwith also made it an individual and team double with his Arctic Tacx RT teammates Jonathan Shubert and Steven Abraham.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A full gallery of photographs by Kimroy Photography is available to view here


Results (provisional):

1. Michael Broadwith (Arctic Tacx RT)         530.82 miles

2. Victor Chetta (Mid Shropshire Wheelers   496.25

3. Jasmijn Muller (Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles)          454.68

4. Nick Clarke (Lovelo Cinelli RT)     451.46

5. Marcus Blagrove (Mersey Tri)        428.56

6. Crystal Spearman (Nopinz) 420.72

7. Paul Russell (Springfield Financial RT)      419.45

8. Angus Swanson (Stirling Bike Club)          416.77

9. Jonathan Shubert (Arctic Tacx RT)            416.68

10. James McKenzie (CC Ashwell)    414.58



1. Jasmijn Muller (Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles)          454.68

2. Crystal Spearman (Nopinz) 420.72

3. Lynne Biddulph (Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles)      401.26

4. Christina Mackenzie (Stirling Bike Club)   379.17

5. Georgina Cleere (Essex Roads CC)            338.55


Men’s Team: Arctic Tacx RT (M. Broadwith, J. Shubert, S. Abraham)

Women’s Team: Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles (J. Muller, L. Biddulph, J. Hobson)