vc glasgow south

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Jun-17
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: W/A77
  • Closing Date: 11-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Watson and Craig victorious in VC Glasgow South 10

  • Published: 18 Jun 17
F | T | G+

Douglas Watson (Icarus Racing) and Pamela Craig (RC Cumbernauld and Kilsyth) were the fastest man and woman in the VC Glasgow South 10-mile time trial staged on Saturday afternoon.

Veteran Watson clocked 20.55 to take the win by just over a minute from Mark Carroll (St Christophers CC), while John Dunlop (Loudoun Road Club) was third fastest, 1-21 off the pace set by Watson.

And in the women’s category, victory went to Road Club Cumbernauld and Kilsyth’s Pamela Craig, the 33-year-old clocking 26.19 to win by just three seconds from the next best female in Catherine Logan (Fullarton Wheelers).

While overall winner Watson is a veteran, that prize went to David Baird (Loudoun RC) under the ‘one rider one prize’ rule, while best of the over-60 veterans was David Pritchard (Kennoway Road Club) and the tandem prize went to Isobel Fletcher and Allan Maclean (VC Glasgow South) with 26.07.

It was Watson’s first win this season in CTT events, although he was second in the Velopreda 25-mile TT last month, which was the District Championships.

And on the same course last year, he teamed up with Ricky Sutherland to win the VC Glasgow South 25-mile two-up.

Starting a couple of miles south of Newton Mearns, the course primarily uses the A77 and tracks the M77, turning where the two roads meet and heading back up north.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Douglas Watson Icarus Racing 20:55
2 Mark Carroll St Christophers CC 21:59
3 John Dunlop Loudoun Road Club 22:16
4 Kyle Johnston Pro Vision Cycle Clothing 22:27
4 David Baird Loudoun Road Club 22:27 1st Vet
6 Graham Smith Law Wheelers 22:42
7 Karl Farmer VC Glasgow South 22:47
8 Iain Duguid SVTTA 22:50
9 Gary Davidson East Kilbride Road Club 22:54
10 Marc Anderson Loudoun Road Club 23:01

Women: Pamela Craig (RC Cumbernauld & Kilsyth) 26:19

Veterans: David Baird

Over-60s: David Pritchard Kennoway RC 25:18

Tandems: Isobel Fletcher and Allan Maclean (VC Glasgow South) 26:07