mid shropshire wheelers (pref to scca club members)(scca 9 of 16)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Jun-17
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: d10/23r
  • Closing Date: 06-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victory for Gibbons in Shropshire

  • Published: 18 Jun 17
F | T | G+

Matt Gibbons was the overall winner at the Mid Shropshire Wheelers 10 and Hetty Niblett claimed the women’s prize on Saturday.

Just under 40 riders took to the course on a fairly flat stretch of the A442, north of Wellington and Telford, the event counting as round nine of 16 of the Shropshire Cycling Clubs Association competition.

There was a tight battle at the top of the standings with the leading three riders separated by just 10 seconds.

It was Gibbons (Nova Raiders CC) that came out on top though, he stopped the clock in a time of 21.45 to claim the win.

Victor Chetta claimed another podium finishing second for host club Mid Shropshire Wheelers, just six seconds behind winner Gibbons, whilst the fastest veteran was Bryn Davies (Hafren CC) who clocked a time of 21.55 to complete the top three.

Sam Morris (Revolutions Racing) was the fastest junior, a time of 23.32 good enough for a ninth place finish overall.

Hetty Niblett (EDCO Continental) was the fastest woman on the course claiming victory with a time of 24.13, defeating nearest rival Charlotte Chapman (Nova Raiders CC) by 22 seconds.

Also on the D10/23R course on Saturday was a regional qualifying round for the National Youth Championships.

Twm Bryn (Energy Cycling Club) was the fastest overall with a time of 22.37, whilst the fastest girl was Hollie Owens (Born to Bike) in 26.25.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.