dukinfield cc (cheshire points series5 of 20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-May-17
  • Time: 16:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: j4/16
  • Closing Date: 25-Apr-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Taylor storms to first 50 win of season in Dukinfield 50

  • Published: 07 May 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Charles Taylor (Team Bottrill/HHS Hire) led a one-two for his team as he retained his Dukinfield 50 title, while Anna Weaver (Vertex Biemme) was fastest woman in the Brian Clayton Memorial event.

The 35-year-old from Eggington near Derby set a slightly slower time than last year and stopped the clock in one hour, 45 minutes and 58 seconds.

This beat team-mate Joshua Williams into second place by 11 seconds in the event, which was in its 90th year and is now the Brian Clayton Memorial.

The J4/16 course is not known for being the fastest due to several turns and a poor road surface.

However, with it being the first flat 50 of the season a strong field of 120 riders took to the start-line eager to get their 50 campaign off to a winning start.

The course saw riders complete three laps of a loop starting near Cranage before going up the A535 before turning left towards Knutsford and looping back for home down the A50.

Overcast conditions greeted riders on Saturday afternoon and little wind for the 90th edition of the event, which for the first time in 30 years had a full start sheet.

Following the two Team Bottrill riders home in third place was last rider off Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) clocking 1:48.38.

The women’s event saw Anna Weaver (Vertex Biemme RT) take a clear victory setting a time of 2:05.19.

Weaver who finished second in the West Penine Hilly RC 14 in March went one better on this occasion.

Amy Ogden (Tuxford Clarion CC) clinched second in 2:09.36.

Edward Baldwin (Seasons CC) was best on handicap while Seamons CC also picked up the fastest team prize thanks to rides from Adrian Jones, John Spearman and Daniel Mathers.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Charles Taylor (Team Bottrill/HHS Hire) 1:45.58

2 Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill/HHS Hire) 1:46.09

3 Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) 1:48.38

4 Tony Cullen (Tri Central UK) 1:49.36

5 John Morgan (Coveryourcar.co.uk) 1:52.04

6 David Crawley (Velotik RT) 1:52.36

7 Andrew Hall (GS Metro) 1:53.15

8 Howard Lewis (Mid Shropshire Whls) 1:53.57

9 Adrian Hughes (Seamons CC) 1:54.01

10 Mat Ivings (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles) 1:54.44

Woman: Anna Weaver (Vertex Biemme RT) 2:05.19

Handicap: Edward Baldwin (Seasons CC)

Team: Seamons CC