ely & district cc (hardriders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Feb-17
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: bs19
  • Closing Date: 31-Jan-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Barker beats cold to top podium in Ely event

  • Published: 12 Feb 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Felix Barker got his time trial campaign off to the perfect start with victory in the 25-mile Ely and District event held in Little Downham on Sunday. Cindy Berry also put in a gritty performance to break the women’s course record.

The 22-year-old Cambridge University CC rider had to battle against freezing conditions on the day and managed to get round in 56.27 to take first place – one better than his previous best in the event, second place in 2015.

As well as the temperature of just two degrees, riders also had to contend with a fine sleet-like drizzle and a stiff breeze from the east.

Overnight rain had left the course very wet and some large puddles on the first few miles made life difficult. The only consolation was that the rain had washed most of the mud off the course.

But the challenge proved to be worth the effort for Barker with his time good enough to take the overall prize and contribute to a winning team time.

Thanet CC’s Sebastian Dickson prevented a Cambridge University one-two-three by posting a time of 57.41 to finish second.

The Cambridge University duo of Harold Bradbury (58.27) and Alistair Goldby (59.17) finished third and fourth respectively.

Chris Hopkinson of CC Desiragear won the veteran prize with a on standard time of +4.47 and John Swindells of Iceni Velo was second vet on standard with +4.47. Colin Lewin of Velo Schills Interbike RT was third veteran on standard with +4.20.

An impressive ride from Cindy Berry saw her break the course record and take 23rd place overall with the BolwPhish Racing rider stopping the clock at 1:09.14.

Twickenham CC veteran Helen Gravatt was second with 1:11.48 and Charlotte Mallin Martin completed the women’s podium for Cambridge University CC with 1:12.39.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1. Felix Barker (Cambridge University CC)  56.27

2. Sebastian Dickson (Thanet RC)     57.41

3. Harold Bradbury (Cambridge University CC)       58.27

4. Alistair Goldby (Cambridge University CC)         59.17

5. Ben Beynon (Team PedalRevolution.co.uk)          59.40

6. John Mulvey (Cambridge University CC) 1:00.13

7. Mark Richards (VC Baracchi)        1:00.18

8. Anthony Collier (Hoddeson Tri Club)        1:00.29

9. Liam Gentry (VC Baracchi)           1:01.43

10. John Swindells (Iceni Velo)         1:01.56

Veteran on standard: Chris Hopkinson (CC Desiragear)        +4.47

Woman: Cindy Berry (BowlPhish Racing)    1:09.14