rutland cc (cheques to nicholas latimer)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Oct-16
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: ohc/10
  • Closing Date: 27-Sep-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Dyke proves fastest in Rutland CC event

  • Published: 10 Oct 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Manchester BC’s Chris Dyke powered to victory in Rutland CC’s hill-climb of Mam Nick near Edale, covering the 1.3 miles in a course record time.

Dyke clocked 6-27.1 to break Peter Graham’s old mark for the course from 1958 – believed to be the longest standing hill-climb course record in the country.

Graham’s old record of 6-34.6 was set while beating Tom Simpson by one second in the 1958 BLRC Championships, so Dyke’s name will go down in illustrious history!

The day was mild and still although not perfect, with the course often offering riders a tail wind assist up the hill.

And as well as Dyke’s course record performance, the fastest female Rebecca Goodson (Sheffrec CC) is also believed to have broken the women’s course record with her time of 8-01.2, breaking Elizabeth Stedman’s previous best by 24 seconds. Stedman also improved her time this year.

And Eugene Cross (SSLL Racing Team) also set a new record in the junior category, clocking 6-57.5,and Joe le Sage (Rutland CC) was fastest in the veterans event with 7-33.1.

The win for Dyke is the latest in a string of good results which have seen him win the Glossop Kinder Velo climb of the Snake Pass, while he was second in the Fibrax Wrexham RC climb of the Horseshoe Pass last month.



Fastest     Name  Club  Time 

1     Chris Dyke Manchester Bicycle Club 06:27.1    

2     Patrick Clark     Team B38/Underpin Racing      06:37.4    

3     Lee Baldwin       Champion System/VCUK    06:37.8    

4     Archie Cross      Team B38/Underpin Racing      06:39.2    

5     Louis Szymanski   ABC Centreville   06:43.9    

6     Chris Bevan Veloviewer  06:47.8    

7     Kieran Wynne-Cattanach  Rhos-on-Sea CC    06:48.0    

8     Eugene Cross      SSLL Racing Team  06:57.5    

9     Courtney Blockley-Campton     Lutterworth Cycle Centre      06:57.6

10    Sam Clark   Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles  07:00.4    


Women Name  Club  Time 

1     Rebecca Goodson   Sheffrec CC 08:01.2    

2     Elizabeth Stedman Fusion RT Fierlan 08:19.7    

3     Emilie Verroken   Langsett Cycles RT      08:45.4    

4     Nicola Holloway   Sheffrec CC 09:48.0    


Vets  Name  Club  Time 

1     Joe Le Sage       Rutland CC  07:33.1    

2     Andrew Sedgewick  Langsett Cycles RT      07:34.1    

3     Daryl May   Sheffrec CC 07:38.4    


Juniors     Name  Club  Time 

1     Eugene Cross      SSLL Racing Team  06:57.5    

2     Huw Owen    Energy Cycles     07:52.6    

3     Adam Quixall      Worrall Wheelers  07:54.1    


Team  Club  Time       

1     Rutland CC (Latimer, Le Sage, Yeoman)     22:20.4