Yorkshire VTTA

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 04-Mar-23
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: V212
  • Closing Date: 21-Feb-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Mayes and Schubert fastest as Yorks TT season begins

  • Published: 05 Mar 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Marcel Schubert

Yorkshire District TT racing season got off to a bumper start as the Jem'Hadar - VTTA alliance hosted a big day of racing near Boroughbridge in North Yorkshire, comprising of six different events with a massive field of 110 riders and over 100 finishers on the day.

The main TT event saw the 2022 British Best All-Rounder Marcel Shubert (Darlington CC) take on the field, and the final result could not have been any tighter as he held his nerve to take the win by just one second from Richard Sharp and a further second to third-placed Irish International Junior Patrick Casey, with 20.34, 20.35 and 20.36 respectively.

The 2016 BBAR Richard Bideau was awarded the prize money for the VTTA Age Adjusted Time just two second behind Marcel once the adjustments were made, showing Richard has lost none of his class.

Bideau also led Pendle Forest CC to the team award with Paul Braithwaite and Darren Harvey also bringing in solid results to take the cash prize.

Fastest female of the day went to junior Isabel Mayes (Shibden HopeTech Apex) with 25:19, with Karen Taylor the fastest female on the VTTA Age Adjusted Time system.

The non-aero road bikes race was competitive with favourite Steve Gibson taking the win from Francis Schofield by 20 seconds with 23:26 and 23:46 respectively. The two-up was well won by the young (juvenile/junior) partnership from Clifton CC Daniel Kemp and James Sawyers with a fast time of 22:50.

Having one of the biggest tricycle entries of the last few seasons was the Trikes only event, which saw Trike legend 'The Doctor' Geoff Booker take the win by over 30 seconds from Les Young, with Geoff clocking 31:28, pretty impressive with three wheels on this difficult course.

The fixed wheel event saw Goole athlete Chris Dugher take the win. James Boddy took the win in the steel framed bike section of the race day.




1. Marcel Schubert (Darlington CC)  20.35

2. Richard Sharp (ADDFORM-Vive le Velo)            20.36

3. Patrick Casey (Team Lifting Gear Products)         20.37

4. Ben Pease (Moonglu CC)   20.42

5. David Ashton (Army Cycling)       20.55

6. Alexander Milne (Muckle CC)       21.22


1. Isabel Mayes (Shibden HopeTech Apex)   25.19

2. Molly Savill (Albarosa CC)           25.49

3. Karen Taylor (Springfield Financial RT)   27.39

4. Sandra Burrows (Vive le Velo)      28.54

5. Suzanne Noon (Queensbury Queens of the Mountain)      30.40

Non Aero: Steve Gibson (Peak Road Club)   23.26